Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

1846: The Race for the Midwest» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does Holland's value go down? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ted Kim
United States
Torrance
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
During the summary of game Phases in the GMT rules (section 9), it says:

Phase I: use the lower off-board values

Phase III: use the higher off-board values

The off-board values as printed on the GMT board have either a yellow background, which matches the color of the Phase I box, or brown background which matches the color of the Phase III box.

For all the off-board areas the yellow (Phase I) value is lower than the brown (Phase III) value, EXCEPT Holland (yellow/Phase I: 40, brown/Phase III: 10).

Is it correct to say that Holland's value goes down in Phase III, and so is an exception to the rules about values going up in Phase III?

Or maybe the board was printed wrong?

What's the correct interpretation?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
tedhkim wrote:
Holland's value goes down in Phase III

Correct. This is to represent historical events: the value of ferrying goods across Lake Michigan greatly decreased as Chicago grew in importance.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.