Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Keeler
Germany
Mittelbrunn
Rhineland-Palatinate
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
I just started playing this game a few months ago and am executing night combat patrols in Mission #5 of the Normandy campaign. I'm finding the rules on illumination to be very confusing. I think I know how they are supposed to work, but I believe the 2017 rulebook is wrong/confusing in 8.2.

I played the first several missions using the previous 2nd Ed. rule book. But once the 2017 rulebook posted online, I started using this latest rulebook. As my night patrol has encountered mortar illumination, I'm finding a problem with paragraph 8.2 in the 2017 rules. First of all, the rules don't address where the enemy illumination marker is placed. I understand from other forum posts that I place the enemy illumination over the card of my friendly unit that triggered the contact. That make sense and I have no issue with that other than the rules don't address it. The bigger problem is what 8.2 has to say about visibility range: "Illuminated units can see adjacent cards per normal LOS rules, as well as other Illuminated cards out to normal visibility range." This makes it sound like illumination only improves the ability of the illuminated unit to see other illuminated cards. But I think the intent is that units on illuminated cards are highlighted for OTHER units to see up to normal visibility rules instead of limited visibility rules. Paragraph 8.2 of the 2nd Ed rule book is actually more clear than the 2017 rule book: "Any card that is under the effect of illumination is illuminated. Units have their normal range to illuminated cards."

Here is the situation that is driving my question: