Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

1846: The Race for the Midwest» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bridge or tunnel prices rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Enrique Trigueros García
Spain
flag msg tools
mb
Hi.

I have doubts about the prices of the tiles where there is a bridge or a tunnel that crosses two hexagons.

For example: how much does it cost to place a tile in Cincinnatti that has an east-west straight line? How much does it cost if the route goes to Louisville? In that case, it crosses a hexagon side with a bridge.

Reading the rules it seems to me that only the bridge or the tunnel completes the player who completes the connection (the second). That means that the first one that puts a route to that side of hexagon should not pay additional cost. Is it really like this?

Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garret Wehrman
United States
Garden Grove
California
flag msg tools
badge
Hello cursor.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
queroscia wrote:
Reading the rules it seems to me that only the bridge or the tunnel completes the player who completes the connection (the second). That means that the first one that puts a route to that side of hexagon should not pay additional cost. Is it really like this?


Yes, you are correct in that whoever places the second tile has to pay the additional cost.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Goch
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, bridge/tunnel costs are only paid when the second side of the connection has been built. The cost is in addition to the cost for laying the tile, though. So, at least $20 or more if a mountain hex.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Enrique Trigueros García
Spain
flag msg tools
mb
Then, placing a tile in Cincinnatti only costs $ 20, even if the route goes to Louisville, past the bridge. And placing a second tile, between Cincinnatti and Louisville costs $ 20 (for tile) + $ 20 (for being the second that completes the bridge connection). It's correct like this? Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Drazen
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
queroscia wrote:
Then, placing a tile in Cincinnatti only costs $ 20, even if the route goes to Louisville, past the bridge. And placing a second tile, between Cincinnatti and Louisville costs $ 20 (for tile) + $ 20 (for being the second that completes the bridge connection). It's correct like this? Thank you.


Not quite. The cost to connect across the hex NE of Louisville to Cincinatti is $60: $20 for the tile, $40 for the lake/river on the hex edge.

Just placing a single tile in Cincinatti would only cost $20.

But connecting that tile directly to Louisville with straight track costs another $60.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
TonyKR
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
queroscia wrote:
Then, placing a tile in Cincinnatti only costs $ 20, even if the route goes to Louisville, past the bridge. And placing a second tile, between Cincinnatti and Louisville costs $ 20 (for tile) + $ 20 (for being the second that completes the bridge connection). It's correct like this? Thank you.

Almost right. The tile between Cincinnati and Louisville would cost $60. $20 for laying a tile, then $40 for completing the bridge.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Enrique Trigueros García
Spain
flag msg tools
mb
Yes, sorry, the cost of the bridge is 40 $, not 20 $. Now I get it right. Thank you.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.