Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
19 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » General

Subject: A Perfect Storm of Damage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ken Grazier
United States
South Euclid
Ohio
flag msg tools
Check out my boardgame demoing website! www.geek-craft.com
badge
Near northeast Ohio? Come to one of my game nights! www.geek-craft.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am wondering with the finale of the Dunwich Legacy upon us, in a perfect storm, how much damage could one player deal in one action.

Our main Investigator:


She loads her shotgun, Zoey plays Double or Nothing. Skids and Roland each play a copy of Vicious Blow (2) after Zoey commits two of them to the test herself. Finally Jenny adds in a Vicious Blow (0). Zoey pumps her skill through the roof and pulls an Elder Sign. Of course, Zoey is shooting a Monster and our friend Lita Chandler is nearby.



Total damage would be:

Shotgun deals 5 damage
Vicious Blow (2) add 2 damage (four times) - 8 damage
Vicious Blow (0) adds 1 damage
Zoey's Elder Sign ability adds 1 damage
Total of 15 damage
Double or Nothing doubles that to 30 damage

Lita Chandler adds 1 damage

31 Damage in one action

Am I missing any potential additions?

Edit - Updating based on the information from CSerpent and jjacjackson
Edit - Lita does not get doubled
Edit - Moved Double or Nothing to Zoey and let Jenny add another Vicious Blow
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon H
United States
Orion Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm pretty sure Double or Nothing doubles ALL the damage. The Vicious Blows and Lita's bonus are triggered as a result of a successful test, so they are repeated.

Why not two of Vicious Blow(2)? For that matter, why not two of Vicious Blow(2) from Zoey herself, and one from each of two other investigators (assuming four players to really max this, with one of them being Jenny. The other two have to be Roland and Skids to have access to Vicious Blow(2))?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Jackson
United States
Mather
California
flag msg tools
OK, one time Randy Beaman had to take baths with his brother. So one time his little brother took a potty in the bathtub .....and now Randy Beaman gets to take showers alone. 'K, bye.
badge
One time, OK, see, one time Randy Beaman's little brother ate Pop Rocks and drank a soda at the same time and his head exploded! 'K, bye.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Isn't Lita Chantler only available in Night of the Zealot campaign?

And remember,the Vicious Blow upgrade is level 2 so only Zoey, Roland and Skids have access to it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Hotovec
msg tools
mbmbmb
Also Double or nothing does double the vicious blow damage but not Lita's because Lita's is a reaction to dealing damage not part of the skill test
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Grazier
United States
South Euclid
Ohio
flag msg tools
Check out my boardgame demoing website! www.geek-craft.com
badge
Near northeast Ohio? Come to one of my game nights! www.geek-craft.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Starking177 wrote:
Also Double or nothing does double the vicious blow damage but not Lita's because Lita's is a reaction to dealing damage not part of the skill test


My group realized this just as I came back to add it. Good catch.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon H
United States
Orion Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Starking177 wrote:
Also Double or nothing does double the vicious blow damage but not Lita's because Lita's is a reaction to dealing damage not part of the skill test

Ah, that's correct. So:

Shotgun deals 5 damage
Zoey committed 2 Vicious Blow(2) = +2 * 2 = 9
Roland committed 1 Vicious Blow(2) = +2 = 11
Skids committed 1 Vicious Blow(2) = +2 = 13
Zoey's Elder Sign ability adds 1 damage = +1 = 14

Jenny commited Double or Nothing which repeats the entire resolution = 14 * 2 = 28 damage

Lita Chandler adds 1 damage = +1 = 29

Edit: yes, what you've edited in. Curious to see if someone will find more.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Grazier
United States
South Euclid
Ohio
flag msg tools
Check out my boardgame demoing website! www.geek-craft.com
badge
Near northeast Ohio? Come to one of my game nights! www.geek-craft.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CSerpent wrote:
Starking177 wrote:
Also Double or nothing does double the vicious blow damage but not Lita's because Lita's is a reaction to dealing damage not part of the skill test

Ah, that's correct. So:

Shotgun deals 5 damage
Zoey committed 2 Vicious Blow(2) = +2 = 7
Roland committed 1 Vicious Blow(2) = +2 = 9
Skids committed 1 Vicious Blow(2) = +2 = 11
Zoey's Elder Sign ability adds 1 damage = +1 = 12

Jenny commited Double or Nothing which repeats the entire resolution = 12 * 2 = 24 damage

Lita Chandler adds 1 damage = +1 = 25


You missed another +2 from Zoey's other Vicious Blow(2).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Jackson
United States
Mather
California
flag msg tools
OK, one time Randy Beaman had to take baths with his brother. So one time his little brother took a potty in the bathtub .....and now Randy Beaman gets to take showers alone. 'K, bye.
badge
One time, OK, see, one time Randy Beaman's little brother ate Pop Rocks and drank a soda at the same time and his head exploded! 'K, bye.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A 4th investigator (Rex, Jenny, Jim or Duke) can also add a standard level 0 Vicious Blow for a net of +2 damage.

Doesn't the timing for Lita still allow the +1 to be double - the effect still resolves during ST7 of skill check?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Austin Fleming
United States
West Covina
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since the Dunwich investigators can add 5 level 0 cards from any color, why not have one of them add two more level 0 vicious blows for +2 * 2 =+4 more damage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Jackson
United States
Mather
California
flag msg tools
OK, one time Randy Beaman had to take baths with his brother. So one time his little brother took a potty in the bathtub .....and now Randy Beaman gets to take showers alone. 'K, bye.
badge
One time, OK, see, one time Randy Beaman's little brother ate Pop Rocks and drank a soda at the same time and his head exploded! 'K, bye.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jenny doesn't need to provide Double or Nothing...Zoey can commit it herself. Let Jenny add a Vicious Blow level 0.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon H
United States
Orion Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
anoirtrou wrote:
Since the Dunwich investigators can add 5 level 0 cards from any color, why not have one of them add two more level 0 vicious blows for +2 * 2 =+4 more damage?

You can only commit one card to someone else's skill test.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Grazier
United States
South Euclid
Ohio
flag msg tools
Check out my boardgame demoing website! www.geek-craft.com
badge
Near northeast Ohio? Come to one of my game nights! www.geek-craft.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jjacjackson wrote:
Jenny doesn't need to provide Double or Nothing...Zoey can commit it herself. Let Jenny add a Vicious Blow level 0.


You're right about Zoey - I play Jenny, does it show?

However, I think it's still a limit of one card per other investigator per check:

Skill Test Timing wrote:
Each other investigator at the same location as the investigator performing the skill test may commit one card with an appropriate skill icon to this test.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Jackson
United States
Mather
California
flag msg tools
OK, one time Randy Beaman had to take baths with his brother. So one time his little brother took a potty in the bathtub .....and now Randy Beaman gets to take showers alone. 'K, bye.
badge
One time, OK, see, one time Randy Beaman's little brother ate Pop Rocks and drank a soda at the same time and his head exploded! 'K, bye.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kengi wrote:
jjacjackson wrote:
Jenny doesn't need to provide Double or Nothing...Zoey can commit it herself. Let Jenny add a Vicious Blow level 0.


You're right about Zoey - I play Jenny, does it show?

However, I think it's still a limit of one card per other investigator per check:

Skill Test Timing wrote:
Each other investigator at the same location as the investigator performing the skill test may commit one card with an appropriate skill icon to this test.


Sure...
Zoey commits Double or Nothing and 2 copies of Vicious Blow (2)
Skids commits Vicious Blow (2)
Roland commits Vicious Blow (2)
Jenny commits Vicious Blow (0)

That's 9 base damage from Vicious Blows, net +18.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon H
United States
Orion Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But Jenny (or any Dunwich gator) could still commit one level 0 Vicious Blow.

You'll have to ask this again in a few weeks. At least one Carcosa investigator will have access to Vicious Blow(2).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Grazier
United States
South Euclid
Ohio
flag msg tools
Check out my boardgame demoing website! www.geek-craft.com
badge
Near northeast Ohio? Come to one of my game nights! www.geek-craft.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CSerpent wrote:
But Jenny (or any Dunwich gator) could still commit one level 0 Vicious Blow.

You'll have to ask this again in a few weeks. At least one Carcosa investigator will have access to Vicious Blow(2).


Added!

And yes, I know Carcosa will change things, but for now, this is what's available through Dunwich.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon H
United States
Orion Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Regarding Lita, this answer from the FAQ addresses why she doesn't double:

Quote:
I have committed Double or Nothing (TDL 26) and Perception (Core 90) to a
skill test during an investigation, and I also have Dr. Milan Christopher (Core
33) in play. If I succeed, which effects are resolved twice?


The effects of a successful skill test are applied during step 7, and Double
or Nothing causes each of these affects to be resolved twice. Dr. Milan
Christopher’s ability is a reaction to succeeding at a skill test, and therefore
is triggered and resolved during step 6, after success is determined. During
step 7, the game result of the investigation (discovering 1 clue), and the “if
this test is successful” result of Perception are both resolved twice due to
Double or Nothing’s effect.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Siegfried
Japan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CSerpent wrote:
Regarding Lita, this answer from the FAQ addresses why she doesn't double:

Quote:
I have committed Double or Nothing (TDL 26) and Perception (Core 90) to a
skill test during an investigation, and I also have Dr. Milan Christopher (Core
33) in play. If I succeed, which effects are resolved twice?


The effects of a successful skill test are applied during step 7, and Double
or Nothing causes each of these affects to be resolved twice. Dr. Milan
Christopher’s ability is a reaction to succeeding at a skill test, and therefore
is triggered and resolved during step 6, after success is determined. During
step 7, the game result of the investigation (discovering 1 clue), and the “if
this test is successful” result of Perception are both resolved twice due to
Double or Nothing’s effect.


So, based on the FAQ example, you would actually get the resource from Dr Milan before you collect the clue or the card from Perception right? Doesn't matter much now, but I can see it being relevant at some point.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nghia Nguyen Trong
msg tools
I think it right because of Trigger rule "First in last out" from FFG FAQ
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig B
Australia
Mount Hawthorn
Western Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, and then you pull the auto-fail token and you just committed all of that!!!!!!!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.