Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Jump Drive» Forums » General

Subject: Rule questions 2 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dsd
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
I have many rule questions but the rulebook is a no help

1. Colony convoy. Can you only use it once? (like crane in san juan). are you allowed to discard 2 planets? should the cost be payed by the planet you discard or from hand? it only applies to gray planets or all planets?

2. Contact specialist means Alien words. as in yellow words?

3. Mercenary card. Does it turn each Chromosome to a Military, or each military to a chromosome? or both either way (all chromosomes can be used as military and all military can be used as chromosome?)

4. Galactic federation gives you 2 for each diamond YOU have and 1 for the amount of diamonds a certain opponent has is this correct.

those questions cause many arguement in my game group please help
Thank you for answering and reading
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin G
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
Don't fall in love with me yet, we only recently met
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dsdjpofjs wrote:
1. Colony convoy. Can you only use it once?


Yes. To use it you discard the Colony Convoy itself, not anything else. After placing a world in the normal way (has to be a non-military world), you then discard the Colony Convoy, place another world and pay for it normally (but with an extra discount of 2 from the Colony Convoy).

Quote:
it only applies to gray planets or all planets?


All non-military planets - colour is irrelevant.

Quote:
2. Contact specialist means Alien words. as in yellow words?


Correct - Contact Specialist cannot be used on Alien/yellow worlds.

Quote:
3. Mercenary card. Does it turn each Chromosome to a Military, or each military to a chromosome? or both either way (all chromosomes can be used as military and all military can be used as chromosome?)


You gain +1 military for each of your chromosome symbols. It doesn't work the other way.

Quote:
4. Galactic federation gives you 2 for each diamond YOU have and 1 for the amount of diamonds a certain opponent has is this correct.


Yes. 2 points for each of your developments, plus 1 point for each of the developments of one opponent of your choice.
6 
 Thumb up
0.33
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Dsdjpofjs wrote:
Colony convoy. Can you only use it once?

Yes. It says "discard from empire", so once you do this, you no longer have this card in your empire and can't use its power again.

Quote:
are you allowed to discard 2 planets?

Discard from empire refers to the Colony Convoy card itself. You discard *this card* from your empire, not any worlds.

Quote:
should the cost be payed by the planet you discard or from hand?

Again, you don't discard any worlds. You discard this card to place a *second* non-military world at -2 cost, just like the card text says.

Here's an example:

You have 8 cards in hand, including Colony Convoy (cost 1 development), Rosetta Stone World (cost 2 non-military world), and Deserted Alien Colony (cost 5 non-military world).

You place Colony Convoy and Rosetta Stone World face down on the table and flip them face up when your opponents are ready. Since you are placing both a development and a world, you pay 3 cards for them, leaving you with 3 cards in hand (8 minus 2 that you placed and 3 that you discarded to pay for them).

Now, you use the Colony Convoy's power (which you could instead save for a later round if you wanted to) to place Deserted Alien Colony. You discard Colony Convoy and place Deserted Alien Colony from your hand. You must pay 1 card to do (5 cost -2 for Rosetta Sone World's power -2 for the Colony Convoy you discarded from your empire), leaving you 1 card in hand. Now, you collect +7 VPs and +2 cards income this round (in addition to the VPs and cards you collected on the previous round).

Quote:
it only applies to gray planets or all planets?

It applies to all *non-military* worlds, those with black circles and solid numbers (as opposed to military worlds, those with red circles and red outlined numbers). See the legend in the sidebar next to "Play" on page 1 of the rules. The two worlds you place can be any mix of colors.

Quote:
Contact specialist means Alien words. as in yellow words?

Yes. All yellow worlds say "Alien" in their title and are identified as Alien Technology worlds under Cards, second paragraph. Contact Specialist cannot be used to place Alien military worlds.

Quote:
Mercenary card. Does it turn each Chromosome to a Military, or each military to a chromosome? or both either way (all chromosomes can be used as military and all military can be used as chromosome?)

It doesn't turn anything into anything. It *increases* your military by the number of chromosome symbols in your empire. That's what "+1 Military" / "Chromosome symbol" means.

Quote:
Galactic federation gives you 2 for each diamond YOU have and 1 for the amount of diamonds a certain opponent has is this correct.

Yes.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dsd
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Thank you both for replies,
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.