Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Flame demons laying traps rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

One of the Flame Demon ability cards allows them to move and then lay a trap instead of attacking. My question is, how FAR do they move before laying the trap?

They usually have a range of about 3 for their attacks, but if they're not attacking, do they move to get within that range, or do they just move as far as possible?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
If they're not attacking they will move as if they have a mellee attack. So they won't maximize for trap positioning but just move as a mellee monster. Note that they are also only allowed to put traps in empty hexes and that empty means "no cardboard or plastic on the hex except for corridors, open doors or pressure plates". So no difficult terrain, coins, etc.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
toeknee n
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rule book pg. 30 wrote:
If a monster has a move but no attack afterward as part of its ability card, it will use its movement to get as close as possible to its focused target (determined as if it had a melee attack), moving along the shortest possible path and ending its movement when it enters a hex adjacent to its focused enemy.
[...]
Having abilities other than “Attack” on its ability card does not affect a monster’s movement in any way. It will simply move according to the above rules and then use its other abilities as best as it can.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jarad Bond
United States
Anchorage
Alaska
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, you might want to double-check the card. It seems like the card you refer to might not have any Move printed on it. If it did, however, the demon would move as if they are melee attackers that round (unless they are *also* attacking).

Edit: Thanks for verifying that they do Move. These guys would definitely get up close and personal and try to lay a trap next to [both of] you. A little bit like an infernal tango.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Stiles
United States
Brandon
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
logris wrote:
Also, you might want to double-check the card. It seems like the card you refer to might not have any Move printed on it. If it did, however, the demon would move as if they are melee attackers that round (unless they are *also* attacking).


Yeah, I don't remember a move on that card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
SaintHax wrote:
logris wrote:
Also, you might want to double-check the card. It seems like the card you refer to might not have any Move printed on it. If it did, however, the demon would move as if they are melee attackers that round (unless they are *also* attacking).


Yeah, I don't remember a move on that card.


4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Stiles
United States
Brandon
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, if they have a movement of 3 at that level, they move 2 as if the were a melee attacker (b/c there's no attack), then place a trap per rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
soak man
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In short, as far as they can toward their focus.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Florin
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As has been stated, with no Attack ability on the drawn card, the monster focuses and moves as if it has a melee attack.

The card's abilities are performed in order, so move based on the stat card minus 1, then place the trap.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.