BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Please help a newbie choose from these games rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Robinson
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Hi everyone

I'm a total newbie here and to board gaming in general. So in-brief I've been looking at some games to grow my collection and have a few on the shortlist and wanted the opinions of some more seasoned gamers as to whether these are good choices or not?

Dead of Winter - now I'm getting into things more, I'd like a slightly more involved, thematic game for 2+ players. Is this a good game for that and should I get the original or the long night variation?

Codenames - I'd like a party game which is accessible to non-gamers and gamers alike which has some light strategy elements and is good for groups. Is this a good game for that? Some blogs I've read mention Resistance and Coup and even Secret Hitler.

Camel Up or Colt Express - been looking at both these as a fun, family friendly group game which is less card based than something like Codenames (cards seem to put lots of people off!) which fits the brief better?

Forbidden Desert - I've really enjoyed Pandemic as a co-op and even my GF has enjoyed it so I was looking to add to the co-ops in my collection.

What does everybody think? Are there better games out there others would suggest as alternatives to my picks? I should probably add, I'm not much of a miniatures or wargame kind of person and I'd like to involve my GF in the games and she hates tile laying in the form of games like Carcassonne. Thanks everyone!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C Bazler
United States
Bronx
New York
flag msg tools
"Come, and trip it as you go..."
badge
"...on the light fantastic toe."
mbmbmbmbmb
Welcome to BGG! It's hard to give recommendations without something to go on. You should add some games into your collection here and rate them so we know what kinds of games you like.