Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Agricola» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can I cook animals/vegetables during the Start of Round phase? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gustavo
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I cook animals/vegetables during the Start of Round phase in order to pay for Occupations that have effects during the Start of Round phase (for example, Plow Driver)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Βραδύπους Ένα
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, if you own a fireplace or cooking hearth you can convert animals and vegetables at any time.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
vradipous1 wrote:
Yes, if you own a fireplace or cooking hearth you can convert animals and vegetables at any time.
Subject to the limitations of the Breeding Phase of the Harvest, of course.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Brown
United States
Ofallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
King Agricola
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The breeding phase is not at the start of a round, Trevor
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fizbin44 wrote:
The breeding phase is not at the start of a round, Trevor
No, it's not. Please read what I quoted; that's what I was clarifying.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Βραδύπους Ένα
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ryudoowaru wrote:
Fizbin44 wrote:
The breeding phase is not at the start of a round, Trevor
No, it's not. Please read what I quoted; that's what I was clarifying.
Sorry but I can't understand what you are clarifying. How can the breeding limitation affect the specific situation?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gustavo
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ryudoowaru wrote:
vradipous1 wrote:
Yes, if you own a fireplace or cooking hearth you can convert animals and vegetables at any time.
Subject to the limitations of the Breeding Phase of the Harvest, of course.


Thanks for the clarification, guys!

Trevor, I understand your point, thank you. However, I am only aware of one of the limitations you mentioned (not being able to cook the newborn animals during Breeding). What is the other Harvest limitation you referred to?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Βραδύπους Ένα
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No other limitations. What is the point you understood about this limitation and the start of the round? It doesn't make any sense to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
vradipous1 wrote:
ryudoowaru wrote:
Fizbin44 wrote:
The breeding phase is not at the start of a round, Trevor
No, it's not. Please read what I quoted; that's what I was clarifying.
Sorry but I can't understand what you are clarifying. How can the breeding limitation affect the specific situation?
Βραδύπους said (emphasis mine) "you can convert animals and vegetables at any time." That statement is incorrect: during the Breeding Phase of the Harvest, you cannot cook a newly gained "baby" animal, and if you have exactly two of a given type of animal, you cannot cook one to make room for the baby.

That is an often misunderstood and/or forgotten rule, and thus I felt the clarification was warranted.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Βραδύπους Ένα
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Omg.... I would say yes if it was a real life. But in this game you just don't get a baby animal if you don't have enough space and that is all.

So I still believe that you can convert animals or vegetables at any time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jarvis
United States
Brisbane
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I vote that both sides drop it, so the rest of us subscribers to the rules forum stop getting notifications.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Βραδύπους Ένα
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I vote let the people talk each other. Just unsubscribe this thread.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff Burkman
United States
Kettering
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Peekaboo!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I enjoy the repetition!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Parker
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
MisterG wrote:
I enjoy the repetition!

Happy to oblige Geoff... You can cook animals any time, except during the very short breeding season.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.