Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Space Hulk (fourth edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Melee weapon bonus when flanked rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Player Red
United States
California
flag msg tools
The rule book is inadequate when discussing melee weapons when flanked. If I have a power sword and am attacked from the side. What do I roll? Do i get weapon bonus? Do I get sergeant bonus?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Carter
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
Page 21 of the rules under Power Sword.

"When fighting a close assault to his front a Space Marine armed with a power sword can parry an attack"

Not in front = no parry.



Page 14 of the rules under Space Marine Sergeant Bonus
"add +1 to their dice score in a close assault against an enemy to the front"

Not in front = no +1

What is inadequate about the rule book?
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Hall
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the rules are very clear on this, and have been since 1st edition. Is there something else besides what Keith addressed that you find unclear?

The only other thing I'd mention is that if you ARE NOT facing an enemy when they attack you, and you win the dice roll, you don't die, but you also don't kill the enemy. You get to turn and face them, which then allows you to use your sergeant bonus on subsequent attacks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mauricio Riquelme
Chile
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You have to think the corridors are too narrow for a Terminator. Hence, your brother couldn't have time or space to turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Player Red
United States
California
flag msg tools
I guess I'm the only person that sees this, but do you roll any dice when flanked? No one has replied what the die roll is when flanked.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Hall
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PlayerRedDiceBoy wrote:
I guess I'm the only person that sees this, but do you roll any dice when flanked? No one has replied what the die roll is when flanked.


This was kind of eluded to in my last post.

Here are the relevant sections from the rulebook:

Resolving Close Assaults
In a close assault both players roll a number of dice, and then compare their scores.

Effects of Close Assault
If the attacker wins the close assa ult, the defender is
killed and removed . If the defender wins and is facing the
attacker then the attacker is killed and removed . If the
defender wins or ties and is not facing the attacker (often
the case against those tricky Genestealers), the defender
may be turned in place to face the attacker.

So yes, both models involved in a close assault roll dice. If you are facing the enemy and roll higher, you win and they are killed. If you are not facing them and roll higher, you are allowed to turn and face them.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Player Red
United States
California
flag msg tools
This is so frustrating. No one has answered my question. HOW MANY DICE DO YOU ROLL AS A MELEE FIGHTER WHEN ATTACKED FROM THE FLANK????
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D. Patton
United States
Myrtle Creek
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Genestealers always roll 3 dice.
Marines always roll 1 die.
There is no 'flanking' bonus like extra dice or modifiers.
However, if you attack a model that isn't facing your attacking model, your model won't ever be killed as a result of the defender winning.
All that happens is the defender may turn to face his attacker as a result.

That answer your question?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Player Red
United States
California
flag msg tools
So all marines defend their flank EXACTLY the same way, regardless of rank or weapons. Correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blue 80
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. #yes
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Hall
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PlayerRedDiceBoy wrote:
So all marines defend their flank EXACTLY the same way, regardless of rank or weapons. Correct?


Yes. The rules only discuss having modifiers or extra dice when FACING TO THE FRONT, so by default, all attacks from the side have standard rolls; 3 for genestealers and 1 for marines.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.