Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Sword & Sorcery» Forums » Rules

Subject: Scout & March encounter cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Hughes
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Could anyone shed any light on when you would ever resolve the otherwise part of these cards.

pg 46 states You only draw an encounter card if there is at least one enemy in play.

given that these cards can therefore only be drawn when there is an enemy in play, there will always be an enemy to activate for the main effect.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rezard Vareth
United States
flag msg tools
The alarm card breaks these rules. The Book of Secrets also could.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Fire
United States
Warwick
RI
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stunned comes to mind.

Never mind, I see in the rules that if there is only one enemy and it is stunned it would still satisfy that first condition.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rezard Vareth
United States
flag msg tools
Wayne LaBanca wrote:
Stunned comes to mind.
No. with stunned you would activate those creatures and remove the stunned token.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Hughes
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
RezardVareth wrote:
The alarm card breaks these rules. The Book of Secrets also could.


Thank you, haven't seen the alarm card yet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Beason
United States
Carrollton
US
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, I think the Otherwise condition applies if you activate fewer enemies than the # stated.

The way the Rulebook describes encounters with a # specified, I think you'd activate the Otherwise condition if you didn't activate all the specified number of enemies.

"Continue to select enemies (an enemy may activate only once) until the matching number detailed in the Encounter card is reached or there are no more enemies to activate."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Cantor
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gbeason wrote:
Also, I think the Otherwise condition applies if you activate fewer enemies than the # stated.


Simone has already explicitly clarified that that is not the case.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Skaak
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
More Mellotron wrote:
gbeason wrote:
Also, I think the Otherwise condition applies if you activate fewer enemies than the # stated.


Simone has already explicitly clarified that that is not the case.


Here's the link to Simone's original post on this topic.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.