Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Combat Commander: Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Playing Hidden Wire during Advance into Melee - who is minus 1? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nelson Isada
United States
Anchorage
Alaska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is the Advancing player Strength minus 1, or are both reduced by one? (I would think the Scenario Attacker only). Didn't find an answer in prior threads. Thanks
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Galli
United States
Scottsdale
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
The 4th Hussars Do Not Ride Donkeys!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Everybody is minus 1!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Huffman
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It affects every unit that has 1 point or more. (You can't go negative) ... So a suppressed broken leader would not have the -1 applied to him because he is already zero.

Basically the Advance into Melee ... play wire on yourself is a good idea if you have less units than the other guy. So you go in with an SS Unit and he has a stack of 3 Teams and a leader .... you play the wire for a net 3 points in your favor!!




Edited to reflect corrections pointed out below.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Huffman
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ninja'd by Rick!!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Galli
United States
Scottsdale
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
The 4th Hussars Do Not Ride Donkeys!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lincudine wrote:
huffman123 wrote:
It affects every unit that has 1 point or more. (You can't go negative) ... So a suppressed broken leader would not have the -1 applied to him because he is already zero.

Basically the Advance into Melee ... play wire on yourself is a good idea if you have less units than the other guy. So you go in with an SS Unit and he has a stack of 3 Teams and a leader .... you play the wire for a net 3 points in your favor!!


I dont think you "can go in" and play a hidden wire though, you can only play a Hidden Wire as a defender in response to your opponent moving or advancing into your hex, IIRC


Only the Defender can play it, but he can, if he really wants to, play it on himself.

Read A35.5, it only specifies units, not who those units belong to!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
huffman123 wrote:
It affects every unit that has 1 point or more. (You can't go negative) ... So a suppressed broken leader would not have the -1 applied to him because he is already zero.


Dan, where do you see that limitation? Nothing in the rules suggests a unit cannot be modified below zero.

(There is a rule in Pacific that leaders cannot carry weapons with a negative movement modifier; perhaps you were thinking of that?)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nelson Isada
United States
Anchorage
Alaska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
O20.3.2?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nelson Isada
United States
Anchorage
Alaska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think F106 is more applicable, but point taken.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nisada wrote:
I think F106 is more applicable, but point taken.


The point is that wire *can* modify a unit's stats to a negative value. Neither of the rules you reference indicates otherwise.


Edit: Just saw Dan's edit above. thumbsup
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nelson Isada
United States
Anchorage
Alaska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Would use of Boxed FP SW in Melee be negated for both Players by Hidden Wire?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marty M
Ireland
Fermoy
Co Cork
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nisada wrote:
Would use of Boxed FP SW in Melee be negated for both Players by Hidden Wire?


You need to be careful about using words like 'negated' here. The +1 bonus for Boxed FP would still apply, but you would also get the -1 penalty for the Wire. This is not the same as 'negating' the +1 Boxed FP penalty, as it does still apply. This is important!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marty Sample
United States
MILFORD
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
nisada wrote:
Would use of Boxed FP SW in Melee be negated for both Players by Hidden Wire?


You can't use SW, boxed or otherwise, in Melee. A rule often forgotten, as IIRC in Squad Leader/ASL you can use LMG in Close Combat.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Marty S wrote:
nisada wrote:
Would use of Boxed FP SW in Melee be negated for both Players by Hidden Wire?


You can't use SW, boxed or otherwise, in Melee. A rule often forgotten, as IIRC in Squad Leader/ASL you can use LMG in Close Combat.

There are no "SW" in Combat Commander... "SW" is an ASL thing.

Boxed FP indeed gives +1 in Melee (3.1.1), and of course other modifiers might also be applied cumulatively (as Marty notes upthread).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marty M
Ireland
Fermoy
Co Cork
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nisada wrote:
Would use of Boxed FP SW in Melee be negated for both Players by Hidden Wire?


I missed the 'SW' upon first reading. I think you may be asking would Wire prevent the use of Weapons in Melee. As mentioned above, Weapons are never used in Melee anyway.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nelson Isada
United States
Anchorage
Alaska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for the corrections and clarifications. My son will be _so_ disappointed that he can't use Molotov cocktails in Melee anymore
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.