Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monster movement question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: mom1 [+] [View All]
Gabriel Mello
msg tools
Hello,during the mythos phase when a monster is going to attack the app states move "monster" up to 2 spaces and attack adjacent investigator or an investigator in it's space but if there is no one to attack it then goes on to say something like move "monster" 2 spaces towards closest investigator. So if it can't attack anyone after the first movement does it get additional movements for a total of 4 or is the app just clarifying the original movement since there was no one to attack and it only gets the 2 movement spaces? Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
arah
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If the app tells you to move them again you move them again, for a total of 4. Check the message log to be extra sure. Each event is inside its own box, and you must execute all of the box instructions.

The app often instructs you to move them again if they can't attack so they can close in faster. If barricaded, that would mean another strength check.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clinton Rice
United States
Montclair
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I must have been spoiled by playing RPGs because with that background, this was always very easy to grasp.

In many RPGs, you have the choice of moving your speed and performing an action (such as attacking), or moving twice your speed if you do nothing else.

This is the same idea. Just like your investigators gets two actions per turn and can use them both to move, the enemies will do the same thing if that's their best option. Some of them just happen to be much faster than the investigators.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce
msg tools
badge
Avatar
Read it carefully. In most cases it will say 'move up to 2 spaces towards an investigator within range', then attack adjacent or in space. If there are no investigators within 3 spaces it wouldn't move or attack because none were in range.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Sverre Lund
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BruceLGL wrote:
Read it carefully. In most cases it will say 'move up to 2 spaces towards an investigator within range', then attack adjacent or in space. If there are no investigators within 3 spaces it wouldn't move or attack because none were in range.


Right, and then the button text is usually "no Investigators within range" or similar. In that case the first movement is ONLY done if an investigator is actually within range to be attacked! So just read the text very carefully, and it should be clear.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabriel Mello
msg tools
Thanks for all the input. The info cleared things up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
arah
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BruceLGL wrote:
Read it carefully. In most cases it will say 'move up to 2 spaces towards an investigator within range', then attack adjacent or in space. If there are no investigators within 3 spaces it wouldn't move or attack because none were in range.


What if the monster is a ghost with investigators behind a wall? Is the range calculated through walls or it can't pass walls still?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce
msg tools
badge
Avatar
Arah wrote:
BruceLGL wrote:
Read it carefully. In most cases it will say 'move up to 2 spaces towards an investigator within range', then attack adjacent or in space. If there are no investigators within 3 spaces it wouldn't move or attack because none were in range.


What if the monster is a ghost with investigators behind a wall? Is the range calculated through walls or it can't pass walls still?

Every activation is unique to the monster type, so read the activation. The definition of range never changes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arinmir Belegar
Spain
flag msg tools
mb
Ghosts don't have this move 'move up to 2 spaces towards an investigator within range'.
It has 3 moves:
* Disappears and reappeard in some player space: No conflict.
* Moves 1 space to be within range of as many investigators as he can:If there is no chance of being in range of any investigator. You can move it wherever you want. But it moves 1 space.

* Moves 1 space to the nearest investigator: To calculate distance you should take into count the wall cross hability.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
t vl
msg tools
Arah wrote:
BruceLGL wrote:
Read it carefully. In most cases it will say 'move up to 2 spaces towards an investigator within range', then attack adjacent or in space. If there are no investigators within 3 spaces it wouldn't move or attack because none were in range.


What if the monster is a ghost with investigators behind a wall? Is the range calculated through walls or it can't pass walls still?


Range is not calculated through walls. So for example, in the case you describe the investigators wouldn't need to do a horror check as long as the ghost stays on the other side of the wall (= in a different room).
If the app instructs you to move the ghost however, it could move through the wall and when it does it's within range of your investigators.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.