Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Fields of Fire» Forums » General

Subject: Veteran unit break down and reconstituting rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
ccwyxx c
msg tools
mbmb
I have a veteran unit 1/1 Plt. Broke them down into 3 assualt teams. According to the rule, they all became Line experienced teams. After accomplishing their tasks, I had them reconstituted. Does the 1/1 Plt retain its original veteran satus or gets 'demoted' to Line? While the rule states that 3 Line teams = 1 Line unit. How do I reconcile it since they were all veterans to start with and now came back as one unit without a scratch?

Any advise?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Keeler
Germany
Mittelbrunn
Rhineland-Palatinate
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Edited to disregard my previous incorrect reply.

10.2.1 of the 2017 rulebook explains it. Once a squad breaks down into LATs and they adopt their LAT experience level, reconstituting them into a squad will not change their experience level back to the squad's original experience level.

Also, you can't voluntarily break a 3-step squad down into 3 separate assault teams. You can only detach a team from a 3 or 4 step squad.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antonio B-D
Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Luxembourg
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once they become LAT you stop tracking its origin, it doesn't matter if they came from a veteran, line or green unit, they have no memory. Therefore they are line, when reconstituting a unit with 3 line LAT the end result is line.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ccwyxx c
msg tools
mbmb
danberniekeeler wrote:
Edited to disregard my previous incorrect reply.

10.2.1 of the 2017 rulebook explains it. Once a squad breaks down into LATs and they adopt their LAT experience level, reconstituting them into a squad will not change their experience level back to the squad's original experience level.

Also, you can't voluntarily break a 3-step squad down into 3 separate assault teams. You can only detach a team from a 3 or 4 step squad.



Ok. I supposed that meant a reduced step squad cannot legally detached anymore assualt/Fire team.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Keeler
Germany
Mittelbrunn
Rhineland-Palatinate
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Correct, You cannot legally detach any more assault/fire teams from a 2-step/reduced squad.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ccwyxx c
msg tools
mbmb
danberniekeeler wrote:
Correct, You cannot legally detach any more assault/fire teams from a 2-step/reduced squad.


And does that also apply to a reduced step squad cannot detach a runner as well?

Escorting prisoners requires at least a fire/assault team. According to the new rule, guard posted to secure prisoner off map cannot return. Which mean I may effectively loose a reduced strength squad (if it's the only unit remaining on the same card with the prisoners), since it can no longer break down.

Or maybe shoot the prisoners..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vic R
Spain
Tomares (Seville)
flag msg tools
badge
Pure mathematics is the world's best game. It is more absorbing than chess, more of a gamble than poker, and lasts longer than Monopoly. It's free. It can be played anywhere - Archimedes did it in a bathtub
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ccwyxx wrote:
danberniekeeler wrote:
Correct, You cannot legally detach any more assault/fire teams from a 2-step/reduced squad.


And does that also apply to a reduced step squad cannot detach a runner as well?

Escorting prisoners requires at least a fire/assault team. According to the new rule, guard posted to secure prisoner off map cannot return. Which mean I may effectively loose a reduced strength squad (if it's the only unit remaining on the same card with the prisoners), since it can no longer break down.

Or maybe shoot the prisoners..


It is not funny to shoot POW, although IMHO it great that the game made you feel the pain of having to deal with them when the easy way, as you said, is just kill them as if they were killed on combat.

I feel is better just to let a reserve LAT to keep all of them together in one card (usually the same where I move the own casulties), so they are not going anywhere until the mission ends, you cant spare a LAT for every prisoner but you should be able to spare one LAT to contain all the prisoners
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ccwyxx c
msg tools
mbmb
vica8081 wrote:
ccwyxx wrote:
danberniekeeler wrote:
Correct, You cannot legally detach any more assault/fire teams from a 2-step/reduced squad.


And does that also apply to a reduced step squad cannot detach a runner as well?

Escorting prisoners requires at least a fire/assault team. According to the new rule, guard posted to secure prisoner off map cannot return. Which mean I may effectively loose a reduced strength squad (if it's the only unit remaining on the same card with the prisoners), since it can no longer break down.

Or maybe shoot the prisoners..


It is not funny to shoot POW, although IMHO it great that the game made you feel the pain of having to deal with them when the easy way, as you said, is just kill them as if they were killed on combat.

I feel is better just to let a reserve LAT to keep all of them together in one card (usually the same where I move the own casulties), so they are not going anywhere until the mission ends, you cant spare a LAT for every prisoner but you should be able to spare one LAT to contain all the prisoners



There are serveral scenarios that require shooting prisoners. Funny or not it is the game rule, and a reflection of reality.

With the latest rule edition, I see that it does not allow keeping prisoners on card. Under Rule 9.13..

"The guard step is immediately removed from play along with the prisoners. If the guard step is friendly, it is not available for the remiander of the game"

With this rule, one may have to ensure an expandable one step team is available before moving into the card to execute the capture, otherwise you may loose a reduced step squad as prisoner guard?

Or maybe one should interpret rule 9.13 this way... a squad may hold them prisoners on card until a fire/assualt team is available to send them out of the battlefield?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.