Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Barrel roll action rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
AMOS BURKE
United Kingdom
WALSALL
WEST MIDLANDS
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Had first game and one question
when do you do the barrel roll action
1 In your movement phase, spend token after normal move
2 At any point in the turn, spend action token then barrel roll
Amos
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan Yates
United States
Olsburg
Kansas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You perform your movement first, then perform the barrel roll maneuver. There should not be a token to spend.

Edited to mark a correction further down.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AMOS BURKE
United Kingdom
WALSALL
WEST MIDLANDS
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thx
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Dickson
United States
Orlando
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
styates wrote:
You perform your movement first, then perform the barrel roll maneuver. There should not be a token to spend.


I could see someone confusing the evade token for a barrel roll token. The icons look a little similar.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan Yates
United States
Olsburg
Kansas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DailyRich wrote:
I could see someone confusing the evade token for a barrel roll token. The icons look a little similar.


Point taken. I can see that also.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Krüger
Germany
Krefeld
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
styates wrote:
You perform your movement first, then perform the barrel roll maneuver. There should not be a token to spend.


Fixed a small error there. Sorry for nitpicking, but the fact that a barrel roll is NOT a maneuver has a lot of consequences for card effects.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AMOS BURKE
United Kingdom
WALSALL
WEST MIDLANDS
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The main point about the question was the other actions you can use if and when you need too and have a token to remind you.
The barrel roll as you say stefan has no token so has to be used straight away.

Here's an example as rules
Tie moves and barrels rolls
Xwing moves on tail of Tie
Tie in Xwing's arc of fire

Why not this
Tie moves and chooses Barrel roll "TOKEN"
Xwing moves on tail of Tie
Tie barrel rolls to get out of Xwing's arch of fire
Amos
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Krüger
Germany
Krefeld
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
420017 wrote:

Why not this
Tie moves and chooses Barrel roll "TOKEN"
Xwing moves on tail of Tie
Tie barrel rolls to get out of Xwing's arch of fire
Amos


Then the pilot skill would not matter and it would be harder to get a shot on Tie fighters.

For the other tokens, there is always a very specific moment to spend them (usually in the combat phase, but there may be cards which enable you to spend them on other purposes). You have to decide about the action sometimes before you even know whether the ship will be involved in combat.

Note that the barrel roll is also useful to make room for your own ships, so this is an additional option that you have because it happens immediately.

And just to be sure you are aware of this: Spending a token is not considered an action. The action is what provides the token (and there are some cards which give you tokens but don't even require an action).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AMOS BURKE
United Kingdom
WALSALL
WEST MIDLANDS
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thx all
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James J
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
420017 wrote:
The main point about the question was the other actions you can use if and when you need too and have a token to remind you.

This is incorrect. After performing a manoeuvre you choose and perform one action. If the action is, say, an evade then you gain an evade token. This token is not a reminder that you can use the evade action, but is the result of the evade action. You can then spend this token later to get its benefit, but when you do so you are not performing an evade action, simply spending an evade token.

This is also important because you cannot pick and choose which action you take after seeing what other things have happened. The tokens are not reminders, they are the result of performing a certain action.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.