Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Clockwork Wars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Movement confusion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Walko
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
It can't rain all the time.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just got to play this for the first time last night. Everyone loved the game, but we had a little bit of problems understanding the movement. I'm not sure if it was us having played too many war games or what, but it just wasn't clicking with us.

Once soldiers are on the map, can they be moved to adjacent tiles other than a forced march? Or does deploy only refer to the soldiers you are taking from behind your screen and placing onto the board?

For instance, is the below move legal, deploying the soldier on B to C, and the soldier on C to D?



The other question was in regards to forced march. It seems in the below example on the right, you could deploy 4 soldiers to C from A, and then leave 1 and move the other 3 soldiers to D.

But in the example on the left, you could only move the soldiers to C from A, but no further, because a forced march requires you to move through unoccupied territory.



We all thought it was odd that you move slower through areas you control than those not controlled.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
So So
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
It is the latter. You can not move units once deployed except through gambit R&D or another ability. Forced march is for units coming from your reserve (the 4+ whatever you recruited) that can move through unoccupied land.

Re #2, you don't "deploy" from a location because units can not be picked up and moved except through special actions like gambit. So it is not slower to move through your own territories because there is no "moving through".
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hassan Lopez
United States
Greenfield Center
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So So has it right. Once deployed to the map, the general rule is that units cannot move. From the rulebook, page 9:

"Units deployed on to the map may not be moved during the deployment phase, although special actions such as the Spymaster action, Gambit, or reinforcement from a citadel may allow a unit to move. Removing a unit from the map is also prohibited, except as a result of death in combat or from a specific card effect. Therefore, the decisions you make during the Deployment phase are of vital importance."

This is definitely one of the harder rules for classic wargamers to grasp. You don't move units around in CW! But the units you have already deployed to the map extend your "deployment range," if you will.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Walko
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
It can't rain all the time.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
severian73 wrote:
So So has it right. Once deployed to the map, the general rule is that units cannot move. From the rulebook, page 9:

"Units deployed on to the map may not be moved during the deployment phase, "

This is definitely one of the harder rules for classic wargamers to grasp. You don't move units around in CW! But the units you have already deployed to the map extend your "deployment range," if you will.


Yeah, that rule gave us a lot of trouble. We took it as meaning; Units you just deployed from behind your screen could not move, so that's why we thought forced march was for moving units already on the board.

It'll be a whole different game next time we play it :)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
So So
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The population cap of 30 can be hit easily in a low conflict game. The inability to move them easily means you have to take chances and use gambit to reinforce as you expand your empire.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.