Thumb up
2 Posts

Power Grid» Forums » Sessions

Subject: First two games of power grid rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
martin pei
flag msg tools
Conclusion: We're all addicted to this game!

But first...this is my first attempt at writing this kind of thing here. It may be confusing and contain erroneous data, but hopefully it's not disasterously bad. I only include a short version of the games... And I used "dollars" instead of "elektros" for no particularly good reason.

First game: 4 players, Harry, Brian, Francis and I, all newbies. We picked the four western regions on the US map. The auctions for the power plants usually didn't go much higher than the market price. The management of power plants, resources, and building cities was overwhelming at first, but we got the hang of it pretty quickly. Brian was blocked off in the beginning since he built at the eastern end of the map...but he managed to build across to the west by paying high prices. Money was hard to come by in the first step, and also in the second step, but when third step came, money for power plants and resources was no longer an issue. It was then a race to have maximum plant capacity and build cities at very high costs. In the final round, I jumped from 12 cities and crossed the game-ending 17th city threshold, with only 4 dollars left. At that point, Brian could only power 16 cities, so he definitely lost, but he built to 17 cities just in the hopes of blocking Harry and preventing him from winning. Alas, Harry also built to the 17th city, and had just a little more money left than me, so he won. I was close, and had I made the right choice in building the final city, it could have been 5 dollars closer. Oh well. I find it a very enjoyable game, though. Final scores...

Me: 17 cities, 17 capacity, 4 dollars left.
Harry: 17 cities, 17 capacity, 19 dollars left.
Brian: 17 cities, 16 capacity, 8 dollars left.