Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Library of Napoleonic Battles» Forums » General

Subject: Rules questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Karl W
Sweden
Uppsala
Europe (Region 1)
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
1.(12.4) Says "A unit may not be attacked, or attack again, after it has advanced (even if it advances into an EZOC of units that have not yet resolved Combat)."
So if first player advances, second player can't attack that unit on his turn? If so, are there any markers designated for indicating this status?

2. What are all the markers with different filled circles and division name on them?

3. Say if 3 units attacked units in a clear hex, where one side is a crest. Is this the only terrain modifier defenders can choose from (thus turn Ar* results as Shock) or can he argue the other hexsides lacked terrain?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evil Bob
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fistOfKross wrote:
1.(12.4) Says "A unit may not be attacked, or attack again, after it has advanced (even if it advances into an EZOC of units that have not yet resolved Combat)."
So if first player advances, second player can't attack that unit on his turn? If so, are there any markers designated for indicating this status?


12.4 refers to "Advance After Combat", which is permitted whenever an enemy stack is eliminated or forced to retreat. The advancing unit may not take part in another combat for the remainder of the active player's turn, as they've already taken part in a combat. However, during their opponent's turn they will once again become eligible to take part in combat.

fistOfKross wrote:
2. What are all the markers with different filled circles and division name on them?


Those markers are placed on the Morale Track and used to track a Division's morale level.

fistOfKross wrote:
3. Say if 3 units attacked units in a clear hex, where one side is a crest. Is this the only terrain modifier defenders can choose from (thus turn Ar* results as Shock) or can he argue the other hexsides lacked terrain?


Always use the terrain modifier based on the hexside separating the defending force from the attacker.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl W
Sweden
Uppsala
Europe (Region 1)
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for helping out!

bbhalla wrote:
fistOfKross wrote:
1.(12.4) Says "A unit may not be attacked, or attack again, after it has advanced (even if it advances into an EZOC of units that have not yet resolved Combat)."
So if first player advances, second player can't attack that unit on his turn? If so, are there any markers designated for indicating this status?


12.4 refers to "Advance After Combat", which is permitted whenever an enemy stack is eliminated or forced to retreat. The advancing unit may not take part in another combat for the remainder of the active player's turn, as they've already taken part in a combat. However, during their opponent's turn they will once again become eligible to take part in combat.

In what situation could the phasing player be attacked in his turn? Regarding the need for the explicit "...A unit may not be attacked, ... ..., after it has advanced. " statement.

bbhalla wrote:

fistOfKross wrote:
3. Say if 3 units attacked units in a clear hex, where one side is a crest. Is this the only terrain modifier defenders can choose from (thus turn Ar* results as Shock) or can he argue the other hexsides lacked terrain?


Always use the terrain modifier based on the hexside separating the defending force from the attacker.

But if the phasing player attacks from 3 different hexsides into a single hex. Say 2 are "not crests" and one is a crest. Regarding (11.1) "NOTE: Terrain modifiers for one side are not cumulative. Always use the one best modifier available to the defender.". Could he argue that 2 hexsides had no crests - Thus no conversion of "Ar*" to Shock? Or are any modifier involved added to the menu he must pick one from. Enumarate unique modifiers involved - defender picks one. As (11.1 B) explicitly states "If all attacking stacks are attacking across ..." i could assume crests (11.1 E) doesnt require all sides - as it lacks such a criteria.

This might be nitpicking - but i think any confusion could have been avoided by adding "if any hexside is a crest - ...".

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tankboy
United States
Haslet
Texas
flag msg tools
The Game that started it all
badge
I know. It's an Awesome Avatar.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A Phasing player wouldn't be attacked in his turn. This refers to Advance after Combat, and if all adjacent combats have yet to be resolved.
If the Phasing player wins the Combat and moves units forward into the now vacant hex, it cannot become part of another attack.

The Defender always gets to pick the best Defensive advantage. As you describe, if one of the attacking units is attacking over the Crest, then that is used as the Defenders bonus. If all your units are attacking from an adjacent clear hex with the crest behind the Defenders, then the Defensive bonus for the Crest is negated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.