Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Epic Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: No "counterspelling"? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Santi Velasco
Spain
Mairena del Aljarafe
Seville
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am almost sure the answer is no, but I wanted to check just in case. Here's our example:

I play Wurm Hatchling in my turn, and call it over. My opponent then uses his opportunity window to play Hunting Raptors, and triggers the Loyalty effect giving them Blitz. So he expends them (ability, not attack) and deal 4 damage to my Wurm, which is enough to kill it.

Can I play now Kalnors Blessing to make it unbreakable? or does the ability's damage has already been dealt and it is too late?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Tumbarello
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
It's still your turn, and he's playing an Ambush card. He can't attack or expend, only block.

I think? Now I'm wondering.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Schaub
Switzerland
Thun
Bern
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He can't attack or block, but he can expend.

Unlike in Magic, you can't react to basically anything because there's no stack and things resolve instantly. So your Wurm Hatchling dies a lonely death.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Tumbarello
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
in the complete rules here's the section on Ambush

5.14 Ambush
5.14.1 Ambush means: “This card may be played any time you could play an event.”
5.14.2 Champions that enter play this way will still be considered deploying as usual, until the start of the
controller’s turn


so they are considered "deploying" and can't use the expend power
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Kapish
United States
Brunswick
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Total unplayed games in my collection: 8
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Wurm Hatchling is broken, dead, and long gone before you'd even have the opportunity to play Kalnor's Blessing.

Epic has no "stack". All effects are resolved immediately.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Schaub
Switzerland
Thun
Bern
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tumby1974 wrote:
in the complete rules here's the section on Ambush

5.14 Ambush
5.14.1 Ambush means: “This card may be played any time you could play an event.”
5.14.2 Champions that enter play this way will still be considered deploying as usual, until the start of the
controller’s turn


so they are considered "deploying" and can't use the expend power


Normally, this is true. But:

srcabeza wrote:
My opponent then uses his opportunity window to play Hunting Raptors, and triggers the Loyalty effect giving them Blitz.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Kapish
United States
Brunswick
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Total unplayed games in my collection: 8
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tumby1974 wrote:
so they are considered "deploying" and can't use the expend power
Hunting Raptor has Loyalty 2 → Blitz.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Tumbarello
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
My bad. I just wasn't seeing it in terms of triggering expend abilities. Just attack.

You learn something new everyday!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Santi Velasco
Spain
Mairena del Aljarafe
Seville
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks everyone, it is as I feared. Now if you'll excuse me, I need to be alone to mourn the loss of my faithful beast.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.