Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Scythe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacking the Automa on Lakes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Will McDonald
United States
Harrah
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So when the Automa gets onto Lakes,
can he still be attacked?

Page 9 of the Automa rules says,
"Once the token has advanced past those spaces, then all Automa units:
Treat lakes as normal territories."

But page 11 says, "If the conquered territory is a lake, village, or the Factory..."
implying that I can move my Automa units onto a lake to attack.

And what happens after I conquer that Lake territory?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Unapologetic Continual Troublemaker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can only move a mech or character onto a lake if you have a faction ability that allows it, so either Nordic or Polania once they have built the appropriate mech as listed below:

Nordic

SEAWORTHY: Your character and mechs can move to and from
lakes and retreat onto adjacent lakes (you may still also
retreat those units to your home base). This allows for
lake hexes to be treated the same as other territories for
movement. If a mech transports workers onto a lake (during
a Move action or when retreating) or if a character or mech
transports resources onto a lake, you may not leave those
workers or resources on the lake after moving off of it, nor
may a worker move off of the lake without the assistance of
the mech. Lakes are territories, so if two factions have a lake
movement ability, it’s possible for combat to happen on a
lake. You cannot build a structure or deploy a mech on a lake.

Polania

SUBMERGE: Your character and mechs may move to and from lakes
and move from any lake to another (similar to tunnel movement,
but with lakes). If a mech transports workers onto a lake or if a
character or mech transports resources onto a lake, you may not
leave those workers or resources on the lake after moving off of
it, nor may a worker move off of the lake without the assistance of
the mech. Lakes are territories, so if two factions have a lake
movement ability, it’s possible for combat to happen on a lake.
You cannot build a structure or deploy a mech on a lake.


Other factions cannot move to lakes, so they cannot attack the automa there.

If you win a combat on a lake it is just like any other combat, you then control that territory and the automa follows its usual rules for retreating from a loss. It counts as a territory for end game scoring, but you cannot build structures or deploy mechs there, or move workers there unless they are carried by a mech.
5 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Studley
United States
Rockville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Who fell asleep in the rain? Did you fall asleep in the rain? Yes you did. Oh yes you did.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GirlDaddy wrote:
So when the Automa gets onto Lakes,
can he still be attacked?

Page 9 of the Automa rules says,
"Once the token has advanced past those spaces, then all Automa units:
Treat lakes as normal territories."

But page 11 says, "If the conquered territory is a lake, village, or the Factory..."
implying that I can move my Automa units onto a lake to attack.

And what happens after I conquer that Lake territory?



Hi Will,
Playing against the Automa doesn't change any of the rules regarding how you play against it. Therefore, unless you are playing as a faction that would allow you to use lakes (Nordic with Seaworthy, for instance) you cannot attack an Automa unit on a lake.

The rule that you cite from pg. 11 is only referring to the resources acquired from succeeding in combat on a lake (or the fact that you wouldn't receive any.

Enjoy,
David

Edit: Ninja'd by the Rev who is correct as always. Thank you, sir.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will McDonald
United States
Harrah
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks guys for the quick responses.
I hadn't played a faction yet that goes
onto lakes and wasn't thinking in those terms.

And thanks David for your work on this.
The detail, reference cards, etc. make
this a fun and successful solo experience.
As a regular solo player, what you guys have done
with this is greatly appreciated. I like
to play through alone so as to answer any questions
that pop up and be ready to teach it.

What else have you been working on?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Studley
United States
Rockville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Who fell asleep in the rain? Did you fall asleep in the rain? Yes you did. Oh yes you did.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the kind words, Will. We love hearing that players are enjoying what we do.

GirlDaddy wrote:
What else have you been working on?


The team just got finished with a very busy period, finishing up Automas for Charterstone, Gaia Project, and Scythe: The Wind Gambit and we're now enjoying a bit of a respite, just in time for summer. I'm itching to get started on something new, though.
Cheers,
David

If you don't already, keep an eye on Morten's blog, as he always posts about projects we're working on: Thematic Solitaires for the Spare Time Challenged
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.