Old Ironsides being overflown by the Blue Angels
Playing the Deluxe Edition, we are confused about how to use the Space Race.
Specifically looking at strategy forums we have come to understand that an operations card used in the space race is discarded and the event, even if it is associated with your opponent, does not trigger. Playing it this way seems to directly contradict rule 5.2.
We cannot find anywhere in the rulebook a reason why an opponent's event would not trigger when used for Space Race operations.
Please enlighten us!