Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Pericles: The Peloponnesian Wars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mandatory naval battle ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kurt Lambert
Germany
New York
flag msg tools
In scenario 14.1.09 the Peloponesian League has a base and two land units in the Hellespont (13), a naval theater. How can the Athenians ever mount an attack there as it calls for a mandatory naval battle but there are no enemy naval units present? Can they mount a naval attack at the base, only?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Manhattan Reject
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
Only played the game once for a quick run through but ....

I think the naval battle is an auto-win and then the Athenians can mount the optional land battle.

May be wrong


Ok I think I was. I presume a naval battle is fought against the base only as you mentioned (as bases are naval and land units) and then the Atheinians would have the option of a land battle.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob S.
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ahasver wrote:
In scenario 14.1.09 the Peloponesian League has a base and two land units in the Hellespont (13), a naval theater. How can the Athenians ever mount an attack there as it calls for a mandatory naval battle but there are no enemy naval units present? Can they mount a naval attack at the base, only?


This thread (https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1809747/combat-clarificatio...), approaches a similar question to yours (though focused on a land theatre and asking about losing bases). You do not need military units in a theatre to undertake naval or land battles. Strategos, bases and Treachery markers also have military value (plus a flipped card) that contribute during battle.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ahasver wrote:
In scenario 14.1.09 the Peloponesian League has a base and two land units in the Hellespont (13), a naval theater. How can the Athenians ever mount an attack there as it calls for a mandatory naval battle but there are no enemy naval units present? Can they mount a naval attack at the base, only?


Bob has essentially answered your question. A battle for the attacker can theoretically consist of one Strategos and a flipped card. What won't happen is no units will be eliminated since you do not have any naval or land units. Also remember a base is a 2 strength land and naval unit. So it is very possible for the Athenians in your example to have committed some number of Strategos plus the 2 naval strength of the base plus the card flip.

I hope that helps,

Mark
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kurt Lambert
Germany
New York
flag msg tools
It does, thank you very much
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.