Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Patton's Vanguard» Forums » Rules

Subject: Scenario 1 Reinforcements ... confused rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Janik-Jones
Canada
Waterloo
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Up Front fan | In ancient times cats were worshipped as gods; they have not forgotten this | Combat Commander series fan | The Raven King (game publisher) ... that's me! | Fields of Fire fan
badge
Slywester Janik, awarded the Krzyż Walecznych (Polish Cross of Valour), August 1944
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
17.2 states "There is no Reinforcement Phase on Turn 1."

17.4 and 17.5 state "During each Impulse of the Daylight Phase of Turn 1, ... [players check for reinforcements via DR] ..."

Are these contradictory? Should 17.2 have said "Impulse"?

P.S. An initial, full German 2113th armour attack to break open the US lines was utterly repulsed by the valiant efforts of the lone 25th unit in Juvelize. Well done, Yanks!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Golyer
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Check out my band: Oak Pantheon
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's a special rule in Scenario 1. There is no "Reinforcement Phase" in Turn 1 because your Reinforcements on both sides will come randomly on a die roll at the beginning of each side's impulse during the Daylight Phase. If they never come before the Sunset DR, then during the Reinforcement Phase of Turn 2 you place your reinforcements.
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Janik-Jones
Canada
Waterloo
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Up Front fan | In ancient times cats were worshipped as gods; they have not forgotten this | Combat Commander series fan | The Raven King (game publisher) ... that's me! | Fields of Fire fan
badge
Slywester Janik, awarded the Krzyż Walecznych (Polish Cross of Valour), August 1944
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. Missed that interpretation of the scenario 1 rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rinella
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You've got it now.

On Turn 1 the reinforcements for both sides may show up, or they may not. If they do not appear on Turn 1 they automatically appear during the Reinforcement Phase of Turn 2.

That's the "scare factor" in the first scenario. If all the reinforcements just showed up during the Turn 1 Reinforcement Phase there'd be no worries at all for either player. That's why the phase is skipped.

Michael Rinella
Designer, Patton's Vanguard
Take Aim Designs
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.