Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Dice of Crowns» Forums » Variants

Subject: Solo Variant rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
George Jaros
United States
DeKalb
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been having quite a bit of fun with Dice of Crowns (my review will be coming out on http://georgejaros.com/GJJGames soon), and wanted to post a solo variant I've been playing around with. I have not yet come up with a use for the Fate tokens in Solo Mode, however you can use them the same as in the standard rules. That may make things too easy though...

Dice of Crowns Solo:

The old king is dead, his crown must be yours. You are his only heir, of course! However, there are political rumblings about the palace. Rumor has it that the king's brother, your Uncle Varrick, desires the throne. Take fate into your own hands, for each treacherous step will be a roll of the dice..

Gameplay:

On each turn you'll start by rolling all the available dice. On your first turn this will be all seven, but throughout the game your dastardly Uncle Varrick may have some locked in crown dice that you won't be able to roll.

On your roll there are four possible symbols:

* Scrolls - Any Scrolls you roll get passed to Uncle Varrick. These will be rerolled and resolved after daggers are distributed (see below), but before any other dice can end the turn.

* Crowns - Keep these! Gain three of them and you'll earn a Crown Token and end the turn (as long as a Scroll doesn't affect this). You can only acquire a Crown Token if no other set of dice ends the turn (e.g. Uncle Varrick gaining three or more Daggers). If you get three Crown Tokens before Uncle Varrick you'll secure your rightful place on the throne.

* Skulls - Keep these! They can be rerolled, or, if you gain five skulls you'll earn a Crown Token and end the turn (as long as a Scroll doesn't affect this).

* Daggers - You may either keep these for yourself, or pass them to Uncle Varrick. If you manage to pass three or more daggers to Uncle Varrick you'll end the turn and release a Crown Die held by your Uncle (as long as a Scroll doesn't affect this). If you collect three Daggers you'll just end the turn (as long as a Scroll doesn't affect this).

Scrolls:

When you roll Scrolls they'll get passed to Uncle Varrick. You'll reroll all Scrolls and complete the actions based on the symbol that comes up. Scrolls must be resolved before any other combination of dice can end a turn. Scrolls rolled by Uncle Varrick must be resolved in this order:

* Skulls - Skulls will come back to you to reroll, but if Uncle Varrick has any Daggers, each Skull will bring a Dagger back to you. If Uncle Varrick sends you a third Dagger he will steal a Crown Token from you. If you do not have a Crown Token to steal he'll steal a Crown Die, if available.

* Scrolls - These will come back to you. You'll be able to reroll them, along with any Skulls you have.

* Crowns - Uncle Varrick will keep any Crowns rolled. If Uncle Varrick has three Crowns he'll earn a Crown Token and end the turn, returning all Crown dice to the main dice pool. Uncle Varrick will always gain a Crown Token when he has three Crown Dice, even if other dice combinations will end the turn, too.

* Daggers - Uncle Varrick will keep any Daggers. If Uncle Varrick has three or more Daggers it will end the turn. Remember, you only release a Crown die if you pass the third Dagger to Uncle Varrick. If Uncle Varrick gains a Dagger from rolling a Scroll it simply ends the turn. If you pass a third Dagger to Uncle Varrick, but Uncle Garrick gains a fourth (or more) Dagger from Scrolls, it ends the turn without releasing a Crown.

Once all dice have been resolved, any Skulls or Scrolls in your possession must be rerolled to continue your turn.

Ending the Turn:

The turn can also end if there are no more dice to roll. You must keep rolling as long as there are Skulls or Scrolls to roll (unless five Skulls are used to gain a Crown Token).

As soon as the turn ends, you'll take back all the dice, except for any Crowns that Uncle Varrick has. Uncle Varrick's Crowns will remain locked in place. The only way to recover Crown dice from Uncle Varrick is by giving him three or more Daggers and ending the turn without Uncle Varrick gaining any Daggers of his own, or when Uncle Varrick earns a Crown Token.

Game End:

The game ends immediately when either you or Uncle Varrick gains a third Crown Token.

For a longer game, play to 5 or 7 crown tokens.

Difficulty:

To increase the difficulty:

* When you give Uncle Varrick a third Dagger, simply end the turn. Don't retrieve a Crown die.
* To retrieve a Crown die from Uncle Varrick you must pass him exactly three Daggers and have less than three Daggers yourself. If you pass more than three simply end the turn. If you have three or more Daggers, you also simply end the turn.

To decrease difficulty:

* When Uncle Varrick gives you a third Dagger, only give a Crown Die, not a Crown Token.
* When Uncle Varrick gives you a third Dagger, simply end the turn.
* If you give Uncle Varrick a third Dagger, end the turn and release a Crown Token, even if Uncle Varrick rolls additional Daggers.
* You may end your turn at any time, even if there are Skulls or Scrolls available after resolving dice.
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricardo de Argiles
msg tools
So much fun.this Solo variant work perfectly.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James R. Gracen
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gjjaros wrote:
* Daggers - You may either keep these for yourself, or pass them to Uncle Varrick.

Is there a reason you would keep any of them for yourself?

Can you pass *some* of them to Uncle Varrick and keep some, or is it an all or none type of thing?

Also, what happens if you roll three daggers in a single roll? Do you: A) Immediately end your turn since you rolled three daggers, B) Pass them all to Uncle Varrick, release a crown of his (if he has any), and continue your turn, or C) Pass them all to Uncle Varrick, release a crown of his (if he has any), and end your turn (because you rolled three daggers)?

Looks promising.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Jaros
United States
DeKalb
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CavemanLogic wrote:
gjjaros wrote:
* Daggers - You may either keep these for yourself, or pass them to Uncle Varrick.

Is there a reason you would keep any of them for yourself?

Can you pass *some* of them to Uncle Varrick and keep some, or is it an all or none type of thing?

Also, what happens if you roll three daggers in a single roll? Do you: A) Immediately end your turn since you rolled three daggers, B) Pass them all to Uncle Varrick, release a crown of his (if he has any), and continue your turn, or C) Pass them all to Uncle Varrick, release a crown of his (if he has any), and end your turn (because you rolled three daggers)?

Looks promising.


I'll answer part 2 first... You'd probably pass 3 to Uncle Varrick, however you'd need to resolve scrolls before you could release a crown, and end your turn.

Now, on to the reason you might choose to keep some of the daggers...

Scrolls are resolved AFTER distributing the daggers, but before the turn can end. Therefore, if you roll 2 daggers and Uncle Varrick already has one, you might want to keep one or two of them in case Uncle Varrick rolls a dagger. If Uncle Varrick rolls any daggers and has 3 or more then he stabs himself and you don't get to release a crown. I'll update the original post to make this a little clearer...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Jaros
United States
DeKalb
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CavemanLogic wrote:
gjjaros wrote:
* Daggers - You may either keep these for yourself, or pass them to Uncle Varrick.

Is there a reason you would keep any of them for yourself?

Can you pass *some* of them to Uncle Varrick and keep some, or is it an all or none type of thing?

Also, what happens if you roll three daggers in a single roll? Do you: A) Immediately end your turn since you rolled three daggers, B) Pass them all to Uncle Varrick, release a crown of his (if he has any), and continue your turn, or C) Pass them all to Uncle Varrick, release a crown of his (if he has any), and end your turn (because you rolled three daggers)?

Looks promising.


Also, you might want to keep a Dagger for yourself to avoid ending the turn if you're close to gaining a Crown. Or if you have three Crowns, since Daggers end the turn before you can earn a Crown.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.