Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Cthulhu Wars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does Gla'aki's Green Decay give Elder Signs for Captured Monsters? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Claus Appel
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Suppose I am Sleeper. I have Gla'aki (from Ramsey Campbell Horrors I) and his spellbook, Green Decay. I have Captured an enemy Monster using Tsathoggua.

When I Sacrifice my Captured Monster, can I use Green Decay to gain an Elder Sign instead of Power?

If we follow the wording slavishly, the answer is no because Green Decay specifically references Captured Cultists. But intuitively I think the answer should be yes...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars Rasmussen
Denmark
Aarhus
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
The tekst on Green Dacay is clear.

"When a Captured Cultist is Sacrificed and returned, gain an Elder Sign instead of your normal reward (of 1 Power)."

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
[This space intentionally left blank]
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
LarsDK wrote:
The tekst on Green Dacay is clear.

"When a Captured Cultist is Sacrificed and returned, gain an Elder Sign instead of your normal reward (of 1 Power)."

Agreed. The wording could easily have been "when a captured unit is sacrificed", but PG chose to restrict it to cultists.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Petersen
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
it's your sister Cheryl!
badge
I work for Petersen Games. AMA
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ze_German_Guy wrote:
LarsDK wrote:
The tekst on Green Dacay is clear.

"When a Captured Cultist is Sacrificed and returned, gain an Elder Sign instead of your normal reward (of 1 Power)."

Agreed. The wording could easily have been "when a captured unit is sacrificed", but PG chose to restrict it to cultists.


correct.

In the story, the green decay only ever affects (former) humans. So, it only benefits captured cultists.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Claus Appel
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All right. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.