Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Saipan: The Bloody Rock» Forums » Rules

Subject: placing Assault markers and Direct fired actions. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pablo R
Spain
Pontevedra
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My game is currently on turn five (second try to scenario 3). I'm having a lot of fun, but I think I still have to learn the system well.



So...

1- Direct fire units can not fired two times in a single activation. Corrrect?
2- A Gyokusai charge can be supported for an indirect fire unit. Correct?
3- When a unit place a Prepared Assault or Banzai marker, other unit in the hex can make other actions. Correct?



Thanks for your support, guys.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Starkweather
United States
Commack
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's a complex system - we both completely understand...

as for your questions:

Quote:
1- Direct fire units can not fired two times in a single activation. Corrrect?


You can only direct fire one time per hex per activation. Note that it is by hex - not by unit. You could fire from a stacked hex and move a unit that didn't fire out of the hex and fire with that just moved unit as a second action.

Quote:
2- A Gyokusai charge can be supported for an indirect fire unit. Correct?


Sure, if you have them.


Quote:
3- When a unit place a Prepared Assault or Banzai marker, other unit in the hex can make other actions. Correct?


There is no action taken when you place an Assault Marker - it is just placed next to a friendly unit. All are free to do any actions they wish.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ross Mortell
England
Bristol
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Pablo,

1- Direct fire units can not fired two times in a single activation. Corrrect?

Correct. you can activate them again with Direct Commands and have them shoot but it costs 1DC per unit.

2- A Gyokusai charge can be supported for an indirect fire unit. Correct?
Correct.


3- When a unit place a Prepared Assault or Banzai marker, other unit in the hex can make other actions. Correct?
The Prepared Assault/Banzai is placed next to an active unit but doesn't take an action for that unit. So if you have a unit you can activate the unit, place an Assault marker and then use that unit to move or shoot etc.

I hope this makes sense
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pablo R
Spain
Pontevedra
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ouch, I thought placing an Assault or Banzai marker was an action!

All is clear for me, now. Just one point:
Ross, when you say: "you can activate them again with Direct Commands and have them shoot but it costs 1DC per unit", you mean in other activacion (with a Direct Command chit). Correct?


Sorry for my english. Thank you both.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ross Mortell
England
Bristol
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb

Sorry Pablo - I wasn't clear.

I meant the same as Adam really - you can move a unit out of the hex and have them shoot with a Direct Command point.

Sorry again for the confusion.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pablo R
Spain
Pontevedra
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No need for apologies. Thanks for your help.

Finally: Can one unit perform its first action before other of its formation/division perform the second? or must one unit perform both actions before other can act?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Starkweather
United States
Commack
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Can one unit perform its first action before other of its formation/division perform the second?


Finally?

The answer is yes to what's quoted above.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pablo R
Spain
Pontevedra
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, for now. I made several mistakes and I think I should restart the game again.

Even so, I like this game.cool
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Viqui S.
Spain
Santiago
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Place an Assault or Banzai marker is not an action. But can I make actions before I place this marker? E.g. Can a unit move adjacent a hex, fired on and finally, place the Assault marker?
Otherwise, is to place the marker the first thing I have to do (after make assaults, of course)?

Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Igor Zacharjasz
Poland
Jablonna
Mazowieckie
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you can't.
Placing assault markers is before any unit activates.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Viqui S.
Spain
Santiago
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Please, where is the rule concerning that?

Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ross Mortell
England
Bristol
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Viqui,

in the sequence of play (Page 9):


g) Perform any Assaults or Banzai Charges, all Active
Units that assault or charge have completed their
Action for this Activation.

h) Place any new Assaults or Banzai Charge markers
adjacent to Active Units.

i) Activate any Active Units and perform Actions
(move, fire, engineer, rally).


So, resolve existing assaults, place new assaults and then activate units.

I hope this helps

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Viqui S.
Spain
Santiago
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Thanks for your help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.