Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Magic: The Gathering» Forums » Rules

Subject: Celestial Mantle and Lifelink rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
col_w
United Kingdom
Poole
Dorset
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
I have a creature with Lifelink and enchanted by Celestial Mantle (Enchanted creature gets +3/+3. Whenever enchanted creature deals combat damage to a player, double its controller's life total.).

Which happens first, and why?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrés Santiago Pérez-Bergquist
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Under current rules, first you gain the Lifelink life as part of dealing the damage, because Lifelink is a static ability that changes how damage is dealt. Dealing the damage triggers the doubling ability and puts it on the stack to be resolved shortly. (Once upon a time, Lifelink was a triggered ability, so you could have ordered them as you wished.)
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Walker
United States
Madison Heights
Virginia
flag msg tools
See the Legendary forums for monthly solo leagues!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lifelink is a static ability, so it happens first, at the same time the damage is dealt. It doesn't cause a trigger or use the stack.

The Celestial Mantle effect is a triggered effect ("Whenever..."), so it will go on the stack after damage is dealt and life is gained.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
col_w
United Kingdom
Poole
Dorset
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Cool, thanks both.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.