Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Massive Darkness» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does Mob benefit from Boss treasure? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Szymon Stuglik
Germany
Darmstadt
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
We've just started our first session and we're having an heated argument as to whether minions in a mob benefit from boss treasure?
What's your take on that? Any idea where's it clarified in the rule book?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Torrens
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Read the info on page 23 under Mobs.

Bosses are Guardians.

Then read page 24 "Guardians"

They even use a Goblin Mob in their example.

Bottom line. A mob acts and attacks as one enemy unit. If they can make use of the item they draw then when the mob attacks they benefit from it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 36, section Mob Attack wrote:
When a Mob attacks use the Attack dice indicated on the Enemy
card to resolve Combat rolls, no matter the number of Minions
in it. If the Boss is carrying a Weapon that matches the Attack
type being performed by the Mob, its dice are added to the Mob’s
Attack. The entire Mob focuses its Attack on a single target.


(FWIW, IMO the wording throughout the book is unclear on that subject up until page 36, where it's made explicit. Earlier in the book there is a mention of the Boss benefiting from it, which implies that the rest of the mob doesn't.)

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Szymon Stuglik
Germany
Darmstadt
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
That is what I'm saying. I'm even pointing to the same example, but my group claims that the treasure applies only to the boss because only the guardians (which the boss is) can use treasures.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
stugal wrote:
That is what I'm saying. I'm even pointing to the same example, but my group claims that the treasure applies only to the boss because only the guardians (which the boss is) can use treasures.


Just point them to page 36 and the argument will be settled .
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Szymon Stuglik
Germany
Darmstadt
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
sgbeal wrote:
stugal wrote:
That is what I'm saying. I'm even pointing to the same example, but my group claims that the treasure applies only to the boss because only the guardians (which the boss is) can use treasures.


Just point them to page 36 and the argument will be settled .


You saved the day
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Franco
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
The boss is basically just another minion.
Don't overthink it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, the Mob is made up of Minions and a Boss. If the Boss dies before the Minions (which can only happen if you Stunned the Mob), then you take his treasure and the Minions have no Treasure to use.

If the Boss is still alive, then the Mob is attacking, including the Boss, meaning the Treasure will be used.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.