Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Bears vs Babies» Forums » General

Subject: baby army vs. monster army question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aaron Sorensen
Taiwan
Taipei
flag msg tools
I've played this game with a number of people and we can't come to an agreement regarding how to determine whether the babies win or monsters win. I haven't seen anything regarding this in the rules, FAQ, or play-through that gives a definitive answer.

Do the various players' armies fight the babies side by side, or individually? For example, someone provokes the land babies which have a strength of 8. Player A has land monsters totaling 7 Player B has 6 and Player C has 5. Together, the monsters total 18 which beats the land babies' strength of 8 and since Player A has the strongest army, would win the points. However, no one player can defeat the babies on their own so another thought is that no one wins the points. Which is correct?

Another question was if all of the players beat the babies individually, but the top two players tie. For example, the sea babies total 3, Player A has a sea monster army strength of 5, Player B has a strength of 5, Player C a strength of 4. Players A and B tie, and while Player C had a weaker army, still did not lose to the babies. Does Player C get to keep their monster army?

Thanks for the help!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tiago Soares
Ireland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. A battle is only won by one player.

In your example the baby army would win.

If the baby army strength was 6 player A would win, and only him.

In case of a tie, the baby army wins.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
CD
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PEdorido is correct except for one part he left out...

On a tie, the babies win, but they do not get discarded like in a normal baby victory. Whenever there is a tie, babies return to the baby pile, awaiting the next battle
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Bull
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
The above seems incorrect. In the rules on their website and in the rules that come with the game it states:

"If there is a tie between the Monsters and the Babies, the Monsters win."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.