Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Flying monster archer movement question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jan Bartoš
msg tools
The elite flying monster has move 4, range 3, attack all enemies in range. It is focused on hero figure just over the trap. Would it fly to marked hex and attack all the heroes? Even one its attack would be with disadvantage (not the focus)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stein Arild Killi
Norway
flag msg tools
Yup, it only takes focus into consideration when it comes to disadvantage.
*So other than that, it will move into range of as many other enemies as possible to maximise attack, given enough movement points.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Latimore
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
You've got it right, that's the monster's best attack and there's no disadvantage on the focus, so that's what it'll do.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathon Voegtli

Arizona
msg tools
Monster decision making is pretty simple
1. Decide focus: closest target ties decided by initiative.
2. Move to hit as many as possible.
3. Move to avoid disadvantaged
4. Move as little as possible.

Follow these in that order and you'll be fine. Each one has priority over the one above it.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
Vosh wrote:
Monster decision making is pretty simple
1. Decide focus: closest target ties decided by initiative.
2. Move to hit as many as possible.
3. Move to avoid disadvantaged
4. Move as little as possible.

Follow these in that order and you'll be fine. Each one has priority over the one above it.



This doesn't seem quite right. First of all, where's the "move to be able to attack the focus"? I guess, this is what you meant by no. 1. But then you wrote that each has priority over the one above it. How do you mean this? Then the monster would never move to avoid disadvantage as the "as little as possible" rule below would mean it shouldn't move at all. Or did I understand you wrong?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trond Roaas
Norway
Kongsberg
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Vosh wrote:
Monster decision making is pretty simple
1. Decide focus: closest target ties decided by initiative.
2. Move to hit as many as possible.
3. Move to avoid disadvantaged
4. Move as little as possible.

Follow these in that order and you'll be fine. Each one has priority over the one above it.


This is incorrect.
First find the Focus. This is first the target you can get in range with the fewest numbers of steps. Ties are resolved by original distance in hexes, then initiative. See the 2nd printing rulebook page 29-30 or the FAQ.
Then try to hit the target for maximum effect (avoid disadvantage).
Then try to hit the maximum number of targets.
And then "move as little as possible" while doing it.

Quote:
A monster will focus on the enemy figure it can perform its current attack against using the least amount of movement. It finds the shortest possible path to get in range and line-of-sight to use its attack, and the figure that can be a acked at the end of that path is the focus. This enemy figure is considered the “closest.” It doesn’t matter if the monster can’t get within range to attack with its current movement, as long as there is a path to eventually get within range. If a monster does not have an attack listed on its ability card for the round, it finds a focus as if it had a melee attack. In the case where the monster can move the same number of spaces to get within range (and line-of-sight) of multiple enemy figures (e.g., because it starts its turn within range of multiple enemies), proximity from the monster’s current posi on (i.e. number of hexes they are away, not counting through walls) is then checked as a tie-breaker for determining "closest."

If more than one enemy ties for being the closest, the second priority is to focus on the enemy who is earlier in the initiative order (summons are focused on before the character who summoned them in this regard, even on the round they are summoned, and a character who is performing a long rest would be focused on last).

(...)

If a monster has an attack ability after its movement, it will move the least number of hexes possible in such
a way as to attack its focused enemy with maximum effect. If it is a single-target melee attack, it will simply move toward the nearest hex adjacent to its focus to attack. If it is a multi-target attack, it will move toward a position where its attack will hit its focused enemy and as many other enemies as possible.

If the monster is performing a ranged attack, it will only move toward a hex where it is within range to perform its best possible a ack. A monster will also move away from its focused enemy un l it can perform the ranged attack without Disadvantage. When forced to choose, a monster will prioritize losing Disadvantage on its focused enemy over maximizing its attack on secondary targets. Even if a monster cannot move into attack range, it will still use its movement to get as close as possible to its focus.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Stiles
United States
Brandon
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Gloomhaven rules posts-- answered by the first reply, then pages of replies continue arguing over how to describe the solution.

So fun.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Pelkofer
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We're still missing "I know you didn't ask this, but here's some additional explanation of adjacent rules" followed by "that's not quite right, it's more like this"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.