Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: "with you controlling the Attack" question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Manuel Asnicar
Italy
flag msg tools
mb
Dear All,

sorry for posting this if is already answered but i didn't find that anywere.

When using ability cards that alow you to force a monster to attack with you controlling the action would you use your deck of rolling modifier or rather the monster deck?

thanks in advance
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Scribbles
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I may be mistaken but I have playing it using my attack deck. My reasoning, is that for that round it is essentially like one of my summons, so I should use my deck as I would for them...

Happy to be corrected if I am wrong though...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
toeknee n
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
See the FAQ for that character class. In general, "Whenever you force a monster to attack, they use the monster attack modifier deck."
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maurizio Briosi
Italy
Rovereto
Rovereto
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it is in the faq somewhere. Going with memory I remember it using the monster deck modifier.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bart Keys
Australia
flag msg tools
The only thing that shares the characters modifier deck are his/her summons. Monsters use the monster modifier deck players use their own decks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wes Holland

North Carolina
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Some scenarios have exceptions to this rule, but in general:

The figure actually performing the attack determines which modifier deck to use.

Players and Summons belonging to Players use that Player's modifier deck.
Enemies use the Monster Modifier Deck.

There exist scenarios such that:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
'Monsters' are Allies and use the Monster's deck.
'Monsters' are Allies and use a Player's deck of your choice.
'Numbered Tokens' are Allies and use the Monster's deck.
'Numbered Tokens' are Allies and use a Player's deck of your choice.

Those are covered in Special Rules though. The general case is that Monsters attacking (even under your control) use the Monster deck.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.