Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Sword & Sorcery» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is a miss a miss? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Kromski
Belgium
flag msg tools
During one of our plays this question popped up and it was not 100% clear to us, even reading the rulebook again. (Maybe because english is not our native language)

If one of your dice you rolled is a miss. Does it only count for the single die and the rest of the hits are still counted? Or is the full attack a miss? Personally I think the latter.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomer Mlynarsky
Israel
flag msg tools
Not all attacks even require a die roll.

I don't see why the attack would count as a miss (though the rules aren't in front of me right now, I'll double check later)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Franco
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
No, this isn't galaxy defenders.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dom Hiob
Germany
Bonn
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mr Skeletor wrote:
No, this isn't galaxy defenders.

Wasn't it in GD that you just couldn't reroll Alien results rather than the attack being an outright miss? -- I've recently tried Descent (with the app) again and I felt quite frustrated by the blue die "X" result that means the whole attack misses. I don't remember that kind of frustration in GD.

To OP: I've always played that just that one die was a miss. The Gremlin face has special uses for some enemies/weapons.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rezard Vareth
United States
flag msg tools
Just the one die. Simone has clarified elsewhere.

This is definitely not Descent.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Franco
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
DomHiob wrote:
Mr Skeletor wrote:
No, this isn't galaxy defenders.

Wasn't it in GD that you just couldn't reroll Alien results rather than the attack being an outright miss? -- I've recently tried Descent (with the app) again and I felt quite frustrated by the blue die "X" result that means the whole attack misses. I don't remember that kind of frustration in GD.

To OP: I've always played that just that one die was a miss. The Gremlin face has special uses for some enemies/weapons.


You could be right. Been a while since I played.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl
Austria
Salzburg
Salzburg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DomHiob wrote:

Wasn't it in GD that you just couldn't reroll Alien results rather than the attack being an outright miss?
To OP: I've always played that just that one die was a miss. The Gremlin face has special uses for some enemies/weapons.


It was worse in GD IF you used an alien weapon without the alien knownledge skill. But otherwise it was that only that single die was a miss.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.