Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Smash Up» Forums » Rules

Subject: Order of ability effects (Gremlin + Mako) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Minas Anor
msg tools
Hello!
I have a question concerning the order of abilities of different minions. The actual case is, that a "Gremlin" [1] has been destroyed and the opposing player wants to play a "Mako" [2]. Does she has to discard a random card before so that there is the possibility that she loses "Mako"? Or does the currently active player decides what happens first?

Thank you!


[1] Gremlin - power 2 - Ongoing: After this minion is destroyed, draw a card and each other player discards a random card.
[2] Mako - power 2 - Special: After you destroy a minion on any base, you may play this minion there as an extra minion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ruben de Kemp
Canada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Minas Anor wrote:
Hello!
I have a question concerning the order of abilities of different minions. The actual case is, that a "Gremlin" [1] has been destroyed and the opposing player wants to play a "Mako" [2]. Does she has to discard a random card before so that there is the possibility that she loses "Mako"? Or does the currently active player decides what happens first?

Thank you!


[1] Gremlin - power 2 - Ongoing: After this minion is destroyed, draw a card and each other player discards a random card.
[2] Mako - power 2 - Special: After you destroy a minion on any base, you may play this minion there as an extra minion.


Note carefully, that Mako specifically says after YOU destroy a minion...so if you were the one to destroy the gremlin, your opponent would not be able to play Mako at all.

Normally, however, yes, it would be you who decides in what order things are resolved...so for example, suppose Mako simply said "after any minion is destroyed..." then you could force your opponent to first discard a card before he gets to decide to play Mako (if he still has it)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vespert Ilio
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
You have to resolve the Gremlin's ability and any other abilities in play that are triggered first. Then, in turn order, players can play Special cards that were triggered, including Mako.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vespert Ilio
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
rdekemp wrote:
Minas Anor wrote:
Hello!
I have a question concerning the order of abilities of different minions. The actual case is, that a "Gremlin" [1] has been destroyed and the opposing player wants to play a "Mako" [2]. Does she has to discard a random card before so that there is the possibility that she loses "Mako"? Or does the currently active player decides what happens first?

Thank you!


[1] Gremlin - power 2 - Ongoing: After this minion is destroyed, draw a card and each other player discards a random card.
[2] Mako - power 2 - Special: After you destroy a minion on any base, you may play this minion there as an extra minion.


Note carefully, that Mako specifically says after YOU destroy a minion...so if you were the one to destroy the gremlin, your opponent would not be able to play Mako at all.

Normally, however, yes, it would be you who decides in what order things are resolved...so for example, suppose Mako simply said "after any minion is destroyed..." then you could force your opponent to first discard a card before he gets to decide to play Mako (if he still has it)


Actually, even if you destroyed the minion, when determining cards that are triggered, cards in play must be resolved first, then Special abilities in hand can be played.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ruben de Kemp
Canada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yah, I incorrectly gave equal weight to the opponent's play, when indeed it should only come AFTER all in-play abilities are considered.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendon Browning
United States
COLORADO SPRINGS
Colorado
flag msg tools
The rulebook has an "order of operations" as it were--Card Resolution Order.

1. Resolve the card just played.
-so resolve the card that destroys a minion, by destroying gremlin.
2. Finish resolving other cards that
are in the middle of resolving.

-doesn't apply in this case
3. Resolve cards in play triggered by
the card of step 1. If more than
one, the current player chooses
their order.

-resolve the card text of Gremlin because its already in play and is triggered by being destroyed. Therefore, have to randomly discard a card and risk losing Mako.
4. Play cards in hand triggered by
the card of step 1. If more than
one, go clockwise from the
current player. (Me First, p. 8)

-can play your Mako from your hand as a response to you destroying gremlin, if its still there.
5. Discard the card of step 1 unless
played on another card.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.