Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Blitz! A World in Conflict» Forums » Rules

Subject: USA Movement while Neutral rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Ruzzo
United States
Manchester
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Was trying to figure out if Hawaii/Manila count as "home territory" for the US for the purposes of movement during the neutral period. For example:

Is it legal for the US to take the Pac Fleet and move it to Western US to avoid Pearl Harbor strike? Is it legal for a transport to grab the Panamanian garrison unit and move it to Manila?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave LeLacheur
United States
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Hi Adam,

Short answer on this one: no they are not part o the USA major power home country. The Pacific Fleet has to sit there and quack until war begins.

However, you can move around GARs while neutral, and stuffing a GAR in Manila is a great way to get Japan's attention....

Cheers,
Dave L.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Ruzzo
United States
Manchester
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DaveLeLacheur wrote:
Hi Adam,

Short answer on this one: no they are not part o the USA major power home country. The Pacific Fleet has to sit there and quack until war begins.

However, you can move around GARs while neutral, and stuffing a GAR in Manila is a great way to get Japan's attention....

Cheers,
Dave L.


Those two seem inconsistent. If naval units are not allowed to rebase unless their origin and destination is home territory, how could a transport get to Manila with a garrison?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave LeLacheur
United States
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Careless writing by me sorry. The relevant rules quote is from 4.2, "Each unit may only move once, and air, BB, CV and SUB units controlled by a neutral major power may not move to a sea area at all (but they may rebase, see 5.1)."

Note that the TRS units are not on that list. They can move freely even while a major power is neutral.

Note that the Pacific Fleet is eligible to rebase but can't. In 5.1, "Naval and air units controlled by a neutral major power may rebase, but the rebase move must start and end in a land area in the unit’s home country."

And of course the Pacific Fleet does not start in its home country.

Hope that helps!

Cheers,
Dave L.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Ruzzo
United States
Manchester
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DaveLeLacheur wrote:
Careless writing by me sorry. The relevant rules quote is from 4.2, "Each unit may only move once, and air, BB, CV and SUB units controlled by a neutral major power may not move to a sea area at all (but they may rebase, see 5.1)."

Note that the TRS units are not on that list. They can move freely even while a major power is neutral.

Note that the Pacific Fleet is eligible to rebase but can't. In 5.1, "Naval and air units controlled by a neutral major power may rebase, but the rebase move must start and end in a land area in the unit’s home country."

And of course the Pacific Fleet does not start in its home country.

Hope that helps!

Cheers,
Dave L.


Ah, that clears it up. I missed the part about TRS not being restricted in the same way.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.