Popular Tags: [View All]
Bryn Ballard
United Kingdom
Woodley
Berkshire
flag msg tools
I Plan. Dice laugh
mbmbmbmbmb
So being a European backer who foolishly ordered Ultrapro extras it seems like I won't get to play this for some time to come.

Those of you lucky enough to have your hands on this game how are you getting on?

What's the learning experience like?
Is the game fun?
Does the game offer a compelling gaming experience?

Thanks
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Stockwell
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Bryn!

Preface: I've been playtesting Apocrypha on-and-off since Spring 2016 -- but read on, as I also report about a first-timer. ;)

My copy arrived Wednesday, but I didn't have time to lay it out for play until today. My sweetie and I have played a LOT of Pathfinder ACG, but she'd never played Apocrypha.

(Even with my own designs, she doesn't like playtesting -- only wants to play completed, published games ... and that's fine.)

Coming from a PACG background, it's still a little weird to get used to the differences -- e.g.: halo and assisting options, fading, fragments, rolling only d6 but only getting to keep three at most -- but felt like that short-cutted about half the rules/learning.

If you like modern horror (which we both do), it's definitely fun thematically. If you like an ACG or co-op or problem/puzzle-solving game, it's definitely fun mechanically. As the above envelope almost all my gaming friends/family ... definitely fun for my crowd!

From my perspective, it's been (and will be all-over-again) compelling to see the world of Apocrypha unfold. For my sweetie, it's too early to say -- but given how she dug into PACG, and that Apocrypha's world is equally deep (or moreso), I fully anticipate her pronouncement of compellingness.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Selinker
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
yesbryn wrote: