Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Up Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Moving Fire rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Sielski
United States
Pequannock
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Need your thoughts.

Could an LMG (which DOES NOT require a crew) use moving fire?

12.13 to me indicates that the only LMG that can be used, is an LMG that has a crew. If it is one of those no crew needed LMGs, it can't be used at all.

Thanks,
Doc
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fernando Robert Yu
Philippines
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Got from the modified rulebook which you can download here in BGG...from the Banzai rules section:

44.9 LMG: The Bren Gun is not considered a crew-served weapon; thus the absence of bracketed
firepower and malfunction values. A Hero card can be used to double the unbracketed firepower values
[10.45] of this weapon only if the Hero card is also a black RNC. This rule cannot be used for other
nationalities (EXC: Japanese).
..................................................................................................................................................................................
44.9 This rule states that the British and (via exception) Japanese non-crew served LMGs can only double its
firepower with the black RNC Hero card, thus implying that the American BAR can use either Hero card.
Specifically "This rule cannot be used for other nationalities (EXC:Japanese)." However, rule 50.6 (DESERT
WAR) states "Like all LMGs in the game which are not considered a crew-served weapon, a Hero card can be
used to double the LMG's firepower only if the Hero card is also a black RNC." Which rule is correct (as they
contradict each other), and how is the BAR handled?
A. Both are; nor do they contradict. The BAR is not considered to be an LMG. Either hero card may be used to
double its firepower.
CLARIFICATION:
The American BAR may use both Hero cards, and is not considered an LMG.
The British LMG may only use the Black Hero card.
The French LMG may only use the Black Hero card.
The German LMG may use both Hero cards, but doubles its bracketed value.
The Italian LMG may only use the Black Hero card.
The Japanese LMG may only use the Black Hero card.
The Russian LMG may use both Hero cards, but doubles its bracketed value.

It does not say anything that these CAN'T be used in moving fire, so common sense prevails and it should be able to move and fire..the restriction is only to which hero card can be used to double its firepower..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Irving
United States
Harrisburg
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dr Brian wrote:
Need your thoughts.

Could an LMG (which DOES NOT require a crew) use moving fire?

12.13 to me indicates that the only LMG that can be used, is an LMG that has a crew. If it is one of those no crew needed LMGs, it can't be used at all.


Uncrewable LMG's can fire while moving subject to the normal 1/2 Fire strength penalty.

Note: All crewable LMG's are belt fed. All uncrewable LMG's are magazine fed. So if you want a justification...

The whole business with the Hero cards is an attempt at play balance. (Crewable doubling the uncrewed firepower only, while uncrewable double with Black Hero cards only--limiting the LMG to one monster shot per deck.)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Sielski
United States
Pequannock
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay ... I'll go with it. LMGs have been modified each rulebook, so collectively, it works. Justification is a good one, btw ... never noted that.

Thanks,
Doc
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Migliore
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So is the following correct?

Determine firepower at relative range per solider:

x2 value
• Flanking
• Encircled
• Infiltrator (if firing)

• Hero on uncrewable LMG (requires black RNC excluding Germans & Russians)
• Hero with regular weapon

x2 bracketed value
• Hero on uncrewable LMG (Germans and Russians only)

bracketed value

• Not fully-crewed LMG/MMG
• Moving fully-crewed LMG
• Fully crewed LMG in Stream or Marsh

x1/2 (round down)
• Moving BR
• Wounded


0 fire power

• Crewman
• Unarmed man
• Transferring
• Malfunction
• Ordnance

• Non-firing infiltrator / Flamethrower

Is group moving?
Take Fire Strength value from each Fire card and x1/2 rounded down.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark J
United States
St. Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
landru wrote:
So is the following correct?

Determine firepower at relative range per solider:

x2 value
• Flanking
• Encircled
• Infiltrator (if firing)

• Hero on uncrewable LMG (requires black RNC excluding Germans & Russians)
• Hero with regular weapon

x2 bracketed value
• Hero on uncrewable LMG (Germans and Russians only)

bracketed value

• Not fully-crewed LMG/MMG
• Moving fully-crewed LMG
• Fully crewed LMG in Stream or Marsh

x1/2 (round down)
• Moving BR
• Wounded


0 fire power

• Crewman
• Unarmed man
• Transferring
• Malfunction
• Ordnance

• Non-firing infiltrator / Flamethrower

Is group moving?
Take Fire Strength value from each Fire card and x1/2 rounded down.


It's possible you didn't get answers because we don't know what you're asking here. This thread is about Moving Fire. "So is the following correct?" In regards to moving fire? No, not all of those things can happen if you're moving. And some don't apply to whether there is movement or not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Irving
United States
Harrisburg
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
landru wrote:
So is the following correct?

Determine firepower at relative range per solider:

x2 value
• Flanking
• Encircled
• Infiltrator (if firing)

• Hero on uncrewable LMG (requires black RNC excluding Germans & Russians)
• Hero with regular weapon

x2 bracketed value
• Hero on uncrewable LMG (Germans and Russians only)

bracketed value

• Not fully-crewed LMG/MMG
• Moving fully-crewed LMG
• Fully crewed LMG in Stream or Marsh

x1/2 (round down)
• Moving BR
• Wounded


0 fire power

• Crewman
• Unarmed man
• Transferring
• Malfunction
• Ordnance

• Non-firing infiltrator / Flamethrower

Is group moving?
Take Fire Strength value from each Fire card and x1/2 rounded down.


Did you copy my Up Front Flow chart?
https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/146740/uf-flow-charts

The only thing I see that was missed was x2 bracketed value on Hero on a CREWABLE (not uncrewable) LMG or an MMG.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.