Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Captain Is Dead» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shields question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Phillip Wright
Australia
flag msg tools
Greetings all.

Played 2 games of The Captain is dead. 1st game ended quickly as we were hurt very badly by the inital alerts.
2nd game did alot better

In the 2nd game though we were a bit confused vy tthe shields ruling. In the rule book it states that when shields drop to 0% the next hit will destroy your ship.

Does damage that exceeds the 0% space continue through thus to losing the game or does it just drop to 0% and then its upto the next damage?

For example: Shields were at 30% but the alert was going to deal 50% shield damage (Reduced to 40% because of the shield upgrade) Do the shields just drop to 0% or does the it continue through thus destroying the ship?

We treated it as the former.

If someone is able to help clarify that would be absolutely fantastic.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Hughes
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We've interpreted it as if you get hit while your shields are at 0%, the ship is destroyed. If you have at least 10% shields, no single hit will destroy you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Terebayza
United States
Coon Rapids
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
themanfromsaturn wrote:
We've interpreted it as if you get hit while your shields are at 0%, the ship is destroyed. If you have at least 10% shields, no single hit will destroy you.


JT (the game designer) answered this is a previous thread here. First question there is same as yours. Sounds like any hit that takes you BELOW 0% kills you.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.