Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Nations at War: White Star Rising» Forums » Rules

Subject: 5.4 Assault Combat question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Warren Wawrosch
United States
Brimfield Township
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The 2nd column, 5th paragraph, states the following,

"If the defender receives more hits than the attacker, the defender retreats a number of hexes equal to its movement factor away from the attacker."

This seems to be contradicted by 5.4.4 Assault Combat Summary point 6 that states,

"6. Retreat the loosing unit one hex or attacking unit back to hex from which the Assault was launched."

The italics are mine, and I assume that the second statement is talking about the defender in the assault.

The version one of the rules makes more sense, where a unit retreats one hex, but I am not sure.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Druelinger
United States
Joppa
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello
The defender retreats a number of hexes equal to its movement allowance away from the attacker. The attacker (if forced to retreat) retreats back to the hex it left to enter into assault. This is a new rule for v2. We found that attacking units were getting clobbered too often if the retreating defending unit formation did not activate as of yet. The summary is a guide to the overall process and will be made more clear and listed in forthcoming errata. Thank you for pointing it out.

Thank you

Sean Druelinger
LnL Publishing
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ruben Rigillo
Italy
Roma
Rm
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Are all units involved in an assault marked Ops Complete, regardless of result and activation status?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Warren Wawrosch
United States
Brimfield Township
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No problem. Further down in the rule for 5.4 Assault Combat four cases are listed for prohibition of retreat into said hex. If the defender can't retreat due to any of these cases is there any penalty due to this other than not retreating?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Warren Wawrosch
United States
Brimfield Township
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Qwirz wrote:
Are all units involved in an assault marked Ops Complete, regardless of result and activation status?


Yes, further down in 5.4 there is a statement saying that once the assault is resolved both the attacker and the defender are marked Ops Complete.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Druelinger
United States
Joppa
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
If the defender cannot retreat it is eliminated. Please see point (d.) of the retreat restrictions. *NOTE* That line should be listed after point (d) and not part of it.

thank you
Sean Druelinger
LnL Publishing
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Warren Wawrosch
United States
Brimfield Township
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok. Thanks for your response, that makes sense.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.