Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

The 7th Continent» Forums » General

Subject: Rest Action rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mathew Schemenaur
United States
Keller
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
I'm at a location with a rest icon, but the rules don't explain what to do when you rest. How do you take a rest action and what does it do?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Amey
United States
Eastern Shore
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you become "Tired" you will may want to take the "Rest" action at some point. It's requirements are printed on the "Tired" card. Hope this helps without revealing too much.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Sesta
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Things like resting and making fire whose effects are not explicitly stated in the rules will be made more obvious by the cards you have in hand and in your inventory. There is generally no effect to doing either of these actions unless you have a particular reason to do so. Anything more than that would spoil the fun. Hope that helps!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ImDarKK "The K"
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
mschemen wrote:
I'm at a location with a rest icon, but the rules don't explain what to do when you rest. How do you take a rest action and what does it do?

Maybe you can add a picture (with a spoiler) for more help ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
To add to what others have said, without revealing anything: a rest action often does not advance the story in any way, but may only provide a way to get rid of a certain State card. Some places with a Rest icon may offer "success" and "fail" texts, but not all do. Those which do not are basically "no-ops" unless you have a card (typically a State card) which is affected by resting.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Aigner
Austria
Wien
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aditionally to some cards in the base game which are affected by resting it's important for the time expansion too ;-)
(I don't consider this a spoiler because it's on the satchel card you add to activiate the expansion)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cam Pentney
New Zealand
flag msg tools
Just to clarify this - if you have the Tired state then that state card has the rest action on it. So can't you effectively "rest" anywhere on the board by taking the action to get rid of the card?

Also, if multiple players have the tired state, do you think you would need to take separate rest actions to remove each one? Or does a single rest action remove them all at the same time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
DrakeNZ wrote:
Just to clarify this - if you have the
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Tired
state then that state card has the rest action on it. So can't you effectively "rest" anywhere on the board by taking the action to get rid of the card?


Correct: you can only rest at a place which has a black-on-white rest action (or using a skill/item which has a black-on-white rest action). The white-on-brown icons mean "while performing one of these actions", and are only usable where those actions can be performed (black-on-white or black-on-red).

DrakeNZ wrote:
Also, if multiple players have the
Spoiler (click to reveal)
tired
state, do you think you would need to take separate rest actions to remove each one? Or does a single rest action remove them all at the same time.


You only have to take one such action, and any side effects of taking that action (e.g. removing that state) are applied. The only requirement is that all affected characters take part in that action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Filpus
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Also, if multiple players have the tired state, do you think you would need to take separate rest actions to remove each one? Or does a single rest action remove them all at the same time.


The action on that card says "Discard this", right? "This" always refers to the specific card that that text is printed on. If it applied to everyone, it'd say something like "All involved explorers return their Tired state." (Mary Kingsley has a card like that, for a non-spoilery example.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Elia - "Rainbow Hippie" Acca
Italy
Bergamo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GregF wrote:
Quote:
Also, if multiple players have the tired state, do you think you would need to take separate rest actions to remove each one? Or does a single rest action remove them all at the same time.


The action on that card says "Discard this", right? "This" always refers to the specific card that that text is printed on. If it applied to everyone, it'd say something like "All involved explorers return their Tired state." (Mary Kingsley has a card like that, for a non-spoilery example.)


Yeah, but this only means that each tired card says "when you are involved in a rest action, discard this". So if three tired explorers take a rest, each of their tired cards will discard itself. The three cards do not need to affect each other.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Karrde
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Accatitippi wrote:
GregF wrote:
Quote:
Also, if multiple players have the tired state, do you think you would need to take separate rest actions to remove each one? Or does a single rest action remove them all at the same time.


The action on that card says "Discard this", right? "This" always refers to the specific card that that text is printed on. If it applied to everyone, it'd say something like "All involved explorers return their Tired state." (Mary Kingsley has a card like that, for a non-spoilery example.)


Yeah, but this only means that each tired card says "when you are involved in a rest action, discard this". So if three tired explorers take a rest, each of their tired cards will discard itself. The three cards do not need to affect each other.

The rest icons on the tired cards are white, meaning they are specific actions. If they were brown it means that it's a passive effect when you do the corresponding action. So, IMO, if you are using the rest action on the tired card to try to get rid of it, each character would have to their own rest action as the success result is to "return this", referring to that specific card.

However,
Spoiler (click to reveal)
the majority/all of the rest spots I've discovered on the board so far say to return the tired state from all involved characters.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Elia - "Rainbow Hippie" Acca
Italy
Bergamo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was working under the mistaken assumption that they were brown. I stand corrected
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.