Neil Allison
United Kingdom
Worthing
West Sussex
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

I've just purchased Battlelore after seeing such positive info on BGG and would like to share my experience of starting out with the game. The Game is one day old and been played 3 times. I choose Battlelore as I have three other Days of Wonder "DoW" Games in my collection (Ticket to ride, Pirates Cove and Shadows over Camelot) and have been impressed with the playability and production of these games. I also wanted to see what the fuss over the C&C mechanism was. I considered Memoir 44 but felt that there would be more to Battlelore.

To put this review in context a bit about me and gaming. I've been playing board games for over 30 years and although new to BGG, I'm not new to Gaming. I have a collection of well over one hundred games covering most genres (wargames, family, euro, etc. etc.) and play games two or three times a week. Impotant point though - this is my first expeience at Command and Colours games.

The contents:

Minatures:

Open the lid and there they are - loads of minatures and looking good... unfortunately on closer examination as I started to unpack them a little disappointment started to occur. I Have to say that the minatures in Battlelore are not of the same quality as the pieces in the other Days of Wonder games I have. They are made with a softer, bendy plastic. The plus side I guess is that they are less likely to lose swords etc. The down side - A lot of the figures are severely bent and look like they are lying down. Almost all of the mounted units are like this to some degree and a number of the foot units. Due to the bendy plastic it's not a case of straightening them as they just bend back down again and in some cases would break if bent that much. I have written to DoW and await their reply.

Cards: