Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Custom Heroes» Forums » Rules

Subject: Playing a special ability card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeffrey Tlusty
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
I think we are playing it right but just wanted to confirm.

With the special abilities you just play the single card, pay the cost and play continues with the next player, correct? For example, player 1 plays 2 10's, player 2 plays the reverse order card paying the cost, then player 3 can now play 2 8's and so on

So if we reverse the order we don't also have to play a card, it just simply continues with the next player.

Thanks for clarification
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stuart Detsky
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Unfortunately, I don't believe you are playing correctly.

The special abilities are contained on advancement cards. In order to use the special ability, the advancement card must be sleeved with a regular card and then played as part of your "set". So in your example, if Player 1 plays 2 10's, Player 2 can play 2 cards activating Charmy's special ability and those 2 cards must be 2 10's or lower (assuming more than 2 players).

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Teverbaugh
United States
Anderson
Indiana (IN)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes the post above this is correct. It is still whatever number is on the card and it has to be the same or higher number than the previously played card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey Tlusty
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
Okay. So is the ascended form cards an exception? As in this can be played by itself and beat all previous hands?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Mohnkern
United States
Germantown
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jtlustyhockey wrote:
Okay. So is the ascended form cards an exception? As in this can be played by itself and beat all previous hands?


The Ascended card is the exception. You can play a single ascended card as a trump. From that point forward, only ascended cards of higher values can be played.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Clair
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
jtlustyhockey wrote:
Okay. So is the ascended form cards an exception? As in this can be played by itself and beat all previous hands?


The Ascended form advancement still needs to be sleeved onto a hero card, and then played. No advancement can be played by itself, it needs to be sleeved onto a hero card first. That said, it you pay the 2 power to activate the ascended form ability (once it has been sleeved) it can be played as a single card on any prior play and beats that play (regardless of the number value on the ascended form card).

Charmy (the reverse card) still has to be played legally. So if the play is two 8's, Charmy would have to be played as part of a pair of 8's or higher. If you pay for the Charmy ability when you play the card, all further plays must then be equal to or lower.

Hope that clears things up.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey Tlusty
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
Yep, thanks for the clarifications everybody. I was playing it wrong. Will have to try it the right way.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.