Popular Tags: [View All]
Lionel Sy
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Hello
mbmbmbmbmb
I will preface this by stating that I have no experience with D&D, and the Shadowrun world, crossfire, nor the RPG. I am however a big fan of the high fantasy setting and have been a lurker of D&D because the setting just seems amazing.

For those who don't know what Dragonfire is about, its a co-op deckbuilding game set in the Dungeons and Dragons universe, where you and up to 5 other friends can go on adventures and complete quests, either in one off scenarios or a full campaign played through multiple play sessions.

I had initially removed it from my buy list, since I was already all in for the Aeon's End: War Eternal kickstarter pick up at the con, which was also a co-op deckbuilder. Since I was unable to snag Ex Libris (another game on my buy list) on the Thursday, I decided to buy Dragonfire along with the character add-on pack as a consolation prize. I am very much glad that series of events happened or else I would not have discovered this amazing game.Since buying it on Thursday, i've played it 3 times while in Indianapolis during after hours of the convention. Once during hotel breakfast as a 2-player game, once as a completely drunken 2-player game, and finally as a 3-player game.

It is not a deckbuilder in the original sense. Cards are not used to directly buy more cards into your deck. Instead, they are used as damaging spells to encounters you and your party will face along your adventures. If you are successful in fully defeating an encounter, it will reward you with gold, which you can use to add new stronger cards directly into your hand. You also do not discard your whole hand at the end of the round. During the replenish phase, if you have 3 of less card in your hand, you can draw 2 new cards from your deck.