Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Sword & Sorcery» Forums » Rules

Subject: Focus An Attack rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Graber
United States
Louisville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule on Focus an Attack states that you can add +1 damage to an attack coming from any item or power. Are actions that have a fist icon considered an attack?

An example would be the Shaman Eagle Totem. If Samyria focuses does this give an additional damage? What about the extra damage in the time phase?

What about non red fist icons that cause damage? An example would be Auriel's Magic Bolt.

What about non combat actions that cause an attack such as flaming oil?

So, the comprehensive question on the Focus rule is... What is the definition of an attack?

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan H
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I don't have all the answers but here's something :

Focusing an attack causes the attack to deal +1 hit, not damage

Samyria's totem causes the target to lose 1 hp directly, thus it does not benefit from the additional +1 hit offered by the Focus action.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Graber
United States
Louisville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Promet wrote:
I don't have all the answers but here's something :

Focusing an attack causes the attack to deal +1 hit, not damage

Samyria's totem causes the target to lose 1 hp directly, thus it does not benefit from the additional +1 hit offered by the Focus action.


This is interesting... Another example is the Samyria Roots power. It shows the icon for hit and then says suffers 1 HP per ACT.

Personally it seems hard to give up an attack for these powers. Especially if they don't get the focus advantage. They can potentially affect multiple enemies but only for 1 or 2 HP. And also you can forge your weapon. So you are giving up +1 damage for the forge, +1 damage for the focus, +1 damage for the domination (if you dominate the area).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver Broom
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sgraber wrote:
The rule on Focus an Attack states that you can add +1 damage to an attack coming from any item or power. Are actions that have a fist icon considered an attack?

An example would be the Shaman Eagle Totem. If Samyria focuses does this give an additional damage? What about the extra damage in the time phase?

What about non red fist icons that cause damage? An example would be Auriel's Magic Bolt.

What about non combat actions that cause an attack such as flaming oil?

So, the comprehensive question on the Focus rule is... What is the definition of an attack?



Items with the Fist icon are considered an attack

A good reference is the Call Lightning example from the rulebook pg 26 where a Combat Action is forfeited to use Call Lightning (which has the fist icon) and the resulting effect is referred to as an Attack by the rulebook.

However, with the Eagle Totem power, you forfeit one Combat Activity to activate the power (because it has a fist icon, it requires you to make that forfeit). The resulting effect is to place a totem in the appropriate area. You could consider this the result of your 'attack.

The totem then goes on to have a passive impact on any enemies in the area.

So in this case I would so no, you cannot spend an Action to Focus for an additional 'hit'.

The power of 'Roots' is that it can provide Slowing and Stunned body conditions vs enemies.

The power of 'Eagle Totem' is to give a Damage over Time effect which can strike multiple enemies and this is definitely worth considering giving over an attack for, in the right circumstance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan H
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
sgraber wrote:

What about non combat actions that cause an attack such as flaming oil?

So, the comprehensive question on the Focus rule is... What is the definition of an attack?


I too would like more explanations about this. Can you add +1hit to flaming oil by focusing before using it ?
At some point I even wondered if enemies would defend against actions such as flaming oil. Since it's not a combat activity, do enemies defend ? Do their resistances / passive armor / magic armor work against it ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simone Romano
Italy
Rome
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You should separate the 2 concepts: "Combat activity" from the "Attack".
The Combat is like a "coin" that you can spend to initiate an attack with a Weapon or to use an Item or power that require a Combat (Red Fist) as "fuel" (let me use this term).

Any personal Item or Power of the hero (not his companion) with a damage type (slash, pierce, blunt, arcane) can be use to perform an attack that can be focused.

Especially during the ACT II you will find many hero powers that allows a hero to perform an extra weapon attack spending 1 Action (so without spending the Combat activity).

Enemies always defend attacks as they can (powers, armor, def dice and so on)

I hope this should be clear enough to play the game without doubts
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan H
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Ok so anything that has a damage type can be used to perform an attack and therefore can be focused, defended, and benefits from domination etc.
Thanks Simone.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.