Daniel Gill
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you store cards and then claim them as victory points at the same time?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
My favorite 18xx game for six players is two games of 1846 with three players each.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. You only score goods that make it all the way to the destination. You only protect goods that don't make it all the way, and are attacked by pirates. Pirates don't attack ships that reach the destination.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Gill
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No what I mean is when do you protect the goods? Is it always before you score them or after?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Loscutoff
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
I'd rather lose to a good move, Than win to a bad one...
badge
the abstract manifest.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
you buy protection when the pirates/storm hits you.
which occurs before your ship gets to port.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
My favorite 18xx game for six players is two games of 1846 with three players each.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you are misunderstanding something, but I can't tell what.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomello Visello
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hovercraft wrote:
Can you store cards and then claim them as victory points at the same time?

Points is about turning in cards that match the color of ships that have reached the end of the journey.

Store
would be about protecting cards from removal when they match the color of ships sitting in the hazard space.

You don't seem to be making this distinction.

Nothing applies to other cards for ship colors still in passage.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pablo Granovsky
Mexico
Guadalajara
Jalisco
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

The order of the game is:

*Ships advance when players purchase their color.

*Most of the times several ships will advance at the same time (but not always).

*When a ship arrives to the port of Edo players will sell their goods with the pre-stated formula.

**At the same time as at least one ship arrives to Edo (since several could be arriving in the same turn)all the ships in the red tide spaces (previous two) will have to protect their goods, This is the only moment when a player can protect goods.

*As long as no ship arrives to Edo the players have no need to protect goods.

Hope this helps.



***Also hope I made no mistake since I have started playing recently.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Gill
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pgranovsky wrote:
Hello,

The order of the game is:

*Ships advance when players purchase their color.

*Most of the times several ships will advance at the same time (but not always).

*When a ship arrives to the port of Edo players will sell their goods with the pre-stated formula.

**At the same time as at least one ship arrives to Edo (since several could be arriving in the same turn)all the ships in the red tide spaces (previous two) will have to protect their goods, This is the only moment when a player can protect goods.

*As long as no ship arrives to Edo the players have no need to protect goods.

Hope this helps.



***Also hope I made no mistake since I have started playing recently.


thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.