Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Twilight of the Gods» Forums » Rules

Subject: TotG FAQ rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Kluwe
msg tools
Hey everyone, here is the current FAQ for Twilight of the Gods. If you have other questions on issues that aren't covered here, post them in the thread and I'll keep it updated.

-Chris

Twilight of the Gods FAQ

*Rules change*

Cards Destroyed via Sacrifice (either by paying the cost, or being targeted), do NOT trigger the Obliterate threshold for that turn. Note that this directly contradicts the rule Aspects of Sacrifice on page 15, and future versions of the rulebook will be updated accordingly (it was getting too easy for Green to hit Obliterate triggers late in the game, and needed to be adjusted).

*Errata*

Delphaic Vision: The Manifesting player resolves the Heresy effect (this will be fixed in future print runs).

Forced March: The Manifesting player resolves the Heresy effect (this will be fixed in future print runs).

Poisoned Knife: The Manifesting player resolves the Heresy effect (this will be fixed in future print runs).

Verdant Oasis: You can only use the "Exhaust a Creature to remove 1 Damage from itself" on creatures YOU control. You can still use the second ability on any Creature.


*Advice*

If you're looking forward to playing in competitive play, make sure you are playing with the Multiplayer variant rules - more specifically, the reduced Seize cost if a player has seized from you the turn before. Read this section carefully, as the reduced cost does not bounce back and forth from player to player.

*FAQ*

Altar of Thermopylae: The card returned by Altar of Thermopylae is ALWAYS destroyed at the start of the End phase, no matter where it’s currently at. This means if you find a way to return that card to your hand or Life Stack, it will still be Destroyed.

Armor: Armor on a player’s Life Stack WILL prevent Defile and Obliterate damage.

Combat: Once blockers have been declared, a player CAN give an attacking Creature Fleet or Stealth, but it will NOT then avoid the blocking Creature. Note that if a blocking Creature is removed and then replaced during the Replace Defenders step, the new blocking Creature WOULD have to be legally able to block Fleet/could NOT block Stealth.

Counting Cards: If you deliberately count the cards in your Life Stack in order to Destroy the topmost one to prevent a Force Trade, in a competitive setting, the judge will have final say on whether or not you have to forfeit (this is a scumbag move, and we would prefer players not do it - official TotG tournaments will take the position that this is grounds to forfeit the match).

Creatures generating Power: If a Creature exhausts or otherwise uses an ability to generate Power, and an opponent Sacrifices to Destroy that Creature in response, the Creature does NOT generate that Power.

Deathbound: Cards with Deathbound fully resolve the Deathbound effect BEFORE that card arrives in the Discard Stack (cards do not get to Restore themselves, nor can they Destroy themselves).

Declare as Attacker/Defender: If an ability is triggered on “When this card is declared as an attacker,” those abilities have priority during that action window. If an ability is triggered on “When this card is declared as a defender,” those abilities have priority during that action window.

Decay: Remember that Decay doesn't trigger if you have unexhausted Aspects at the end of the turn, Decay ONLY triggers if you've generated Power from those Aspects and then haven't used it by the end of the turn. Practically, this means you should really only see Decay trigger if a player tries to Manifest one of your Aspects, and in response you Exhaust that Aspect to generate Power BEFORE the Heresy effect is revealed (for instance if you thought the Heresy was "Exhaust this card"). For old school M:tG players, think of Decay as exactly similar to Mana Burn.

Enter Play Effects: When a card enters play, and has an effect that happens when that card enters play, there is no action window between the card entering the Combat Field and resolving the enter play effect. These actions are simultaneous.
Ex. Bill plays a Stoic Legionnaires, allowing him to Manifest 1T1 when it enters play. Jane CANNOT respond with a damage/kill effect to remove Bill’s Stoic Legionnaires before the Manifest effect is resolved, as the Manifest effect is simultaneous with the Legionnaires entering the Combat Field. Jane *could* still prevent it by Sacrificing to counter the Legionnaires as they were cast, however (in which case the Legionnaires would never enter the Combat Field at all).

Fanatic of Hades: When resolving Fanatic of Hades’ Deathbound effect, you must take the topmost appropriate card (either T1 or T2), ONLY looking at the back. You do not get to look at the front of the cards.

Fanatic of Hades: When resolving Fanatic of Hades’ Requiem effect, if the Aspect you destroy has a Requiem effect of its own, that Requiem effect IS triggered.

Guardian: Guardian effects resolve after Creatures suffer damage, but before Creatures are placed in the Discard Stack (preventing cards from Restoring themselves).
Ex. Jane is blocking with a Palace Sphinx (Guardian effect: Restore 3). If her Palace Sphinx is slain during this combat, the Restore 3 effect will resolve BEFORE the Palace Sphinx is placed in the Discard Stack.

Hera: Using Hera’s Deity power WILL trigger Prescience triggers for the remainder of that turn.

Multiple Manifest Triggers: Make sure to resolve Heresy effects in the order they are printed.
Ex. Card A is printed “Manifest 1T1; Deal 2 damage to target creature,” and with Card A’s Manifestation, you trigger Card B from the Resource Area whose Heresy reads “Manifest 1T1; Restore 2,” and Card B Manifests Card C which reads “Kill target T1 creature.” The correct order of operations would be for Card A to Manifest Card B, which then Manifests Card C, which then would need a target T1 creature to kill. Once Card C’s kill effect has been resolved, you would then resolve Card B’s Restore effect. Once Card B’s Restore effect has been resolved, you would then (finally) get back to Card A’s second effect and resolve its “Deal 2 damage to target creature.”

Nemean Lion: Nemean Lion removes damage via its ability immediately after damage to Creatures is resolved (before the Action Window for damage to Discard Stacks).

Obliterate: In order to target a player with an Obliterate effect, that player must have had a card Destroyed earlier that turn. For example, if an effect says "Obliterate: Manifest 1T3", you can only Manifest in front of a player who has had a card Destroyed earlier that turn.

Swarming Horrors: Swarming Horrors WILL remove non-Fleet mini-cards from the field, but since mini-cards are always Destroyed when they leave play (not returned to hand), any mini-cards removed this way will NOT count towards the additional effects on Swarming Horrors.

Vault of Judas: The Blessing provided by Vault of Judas does NOT go away at the end of turn.

The Wild Hunt: The Wild Hunt CAN target non-Creature cards with its Deathbound ability. Note that unless a card specifically allows you to do something with wound markers on it, they will be merely aesthetic.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Vestal
United States
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for starting this thread! I was considering suggesting that you start one, with all the questions starting to pop up as people get the game.

I had another one (and they'll pop up as we play): The conviction effect of Imperial Palace would damage it's controller for using any prescience creatures. Is this downside intentional?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Kluwe
msg tools
The armor on it will negate the first Prescience creature's damage (generally Julian the Apostate if you're going for the full combo). Anything after that will harm you, and this is by design, as you'll likely be winning pretty big at that point, and it keeps players from going full Praetorian Guard + Julian and having no downside.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lou Wainwright
United States
LYNNFIELD
MA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Chris. when a Heresy exhausts the aspect does that generate a power? And if not, when would Decay typically occur?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Vestal
United States
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
An effect that exhausts an aspect doesn't generate power. However, a player may exhaust an aspect he/she controls, in response to an effect that taps it, to generate power. Decay occurs during the end phase, so you can "float" power until the end of the current turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Hale
United States
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
ChrisToTG wrote:
Fanatic of Hades: When resolving Fanatic of Hades’ Requiem effect, if the Aspect you destroy has a Requiem effect of its own, that Requiem effect IS triggered.

Who triggers the Requiem of the Destroyed Aspect card in this case? In other words, if Bill's Fanatic of Hades's Requiem Destroys an Inner City Assassin from his Resource Area, does Bill, the Controller of the card (the Inner City Assassin), move 4 cards from his Discard Pile to his Lifestack? Or does Jane get to do that because she is the Owner of the card (The Inner City Assassin)?

Sub-question: Do you Recharge after Fanatic of Hades's Requiem? You lose an Aspect so you normally should, but does Fanatic of Hades work by giving you an Aspect of Power for as long as he is not Destroyed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Morgan
United States
California
flag msg tools
Owning players of the cards benefit from the Requiem effects(or negative in the case of Fanatic of Hades.)

Fanatic of Hades does not Recharge if he is Destroyed, so there is risk that it lands in your Discard stack, Destroyed from Obliterate or is Destroyed in your Aspect stack you still lose an Aspect as the Owning player.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Concepcion
United States
lititz
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A poisoned knife manifested on my side. Does the triggered ability happen even if it's my opponent that gets affected by it?

Also when does a deities conviction affect take place? When it's flipped face down?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Vestal
United States
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dimmok wrote:
A poisoned knife manifested on my side. Does the triggered ability happen even if it's my opponent that gets affected by it?

Also when does a deities conviction affect take place? When it's flipped face down?

There's no triggered ability on the manifest text of poisoned knife. Just "do A" then "do B".

Yes, all the conviction effects on the currently-released Gods are part of the active effect, and are checked/triggered when the God is activated, after which the God is flipped to the other side.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Kluwe
msg tools
HexStarDragon wrote:
dimmok wrote:
A poisoned knife manifested on my side. Does the triggered ability happen even if it's my opponent that gets affected by it?

Also when does a deities conviction affect take place? When it's flipped face down?

There's no triggered ability on the manifest text of poisoned knife. Just "do A" then "do B".

Yes, all the conviction effects on the currently-released Gods are part of the active effect, and are checked/triggered when the God is activated, after which the God is flipped to the other side.

This is correct (if you're unsure on who gets to target with the Poisoned Knife, it's the Manifesting player, as indicated in the FAQ above)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
This is a basic question, but I’m still not 100% clear on Decay.

Do “fresh” aspects count towards Decay during the end phase? Or just ones that a player has exhausted and then didn’t use the resulting power?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Vestal
United States
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
filterban wrote:
This is a basic question, but I’m still not 100% clear on Decay.

Do “fresh” aspects count towards Decay during the end phase? Or just ones that a player has exhausted and then didn’t use the resulting power?

The latter - it penalizes unused/unspent power, not the aspects themselves.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Concepcion
United States
lititz
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Faucett
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mb
In the rules under “Manifesting & Heresy” there is a rule that says “Many Manifested Intrigue cards allow the manifesting player to put them into play...”

I am struggling to find a card that does that. Can you give an example of that and a brief explanation if it doesn’t explicitly say “when you manifest this card, you may put it into play”?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Kluwe
msg tools
90% of Intrigues have as their Heresy ability "Manifesting player may put this card into play under their control," because we want you to be able to cheat them out into play during the mid and late game (with the downside that if your opponent guesses what you're doing, they can choose to manifest on their own side and grab the Intrigue for themself, or you might tie up too many of your resources paying upkeep costs).

A notable exception is Fire Wall, which has as its Heresy "Controlling player's Creaturss each suffer 1 Piercing damage." Generally, if an Intrigue doesn't allow the Manifesting player to put it into play, it's because we found during playtesting that cheating it out was a bit too powerful, so we gave it a different effect instead.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls