Popular Tags: [View All]
Eugene Png
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi thriends,

The time has come to introduce you to the next Geek of the Week. Actually, I wonder if he really needs an introduction. I really enjoyed the games designed by him. He is none other than,

Richard Breese
United Kingdom
Stratford-upon-Avon
Warwickshire
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

Here's what he said about himself,

Richard Breese wrote:
Firstly thanks to Eugene for putting me forward for the honour of being Geek of the Week.

I’m an accountant by profession. I’m currently Finance Director at a commercial property development company. Since 1989 in my spare time I’ve been designing and publishing games through my own company R&D Games. My first game Chamelequin was published in 1989 and that creature features in the current R&D Games logo. Subsequent designs include Aladdin's Dragons, Fowl Play!, Inhabit the Earth, Reef Encounter, The BoardGameGeek Game and the Key-series of games.

The games in the Key-series include Keydom, which is widely recognised as the first Worker Placement game, Keythedral (a former BGG top 100 game) and Keyflower (currently a BGG top 50 game). This year's new title Keyper is currently in production and next year’s (2018) Key game, co-designed with Sebastian Bleasdale and Ian Vincent and provisionally entitled Key Flow, is almost finalised. The Key games (with the exception of last year's Key to the City: London) are all based in the mythical land of Keydom with a family friendly, non-violent theme. Player interaction is indirect, through the game mechanics, and actions create positive, not negative outcomes which are all traits I prefer in the games I play.

My sister Juliet Breese was the illustrator on most of the R&D games, which are well known for their distinctive and appealing style, but she has recently retired. This year Vicki Dalton has stepped up fill the role for the Keyper graphics.