Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Quest for El Dorado» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about treasure chest rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: answer_in_the_rulebook [+] [View All]
Scott Tullis
United States
Hamilton
Ohio
flag msg tools
The treasure chest is one of those cards that gets discarded when it is used.

What if it is used as money (4 coins) to buy another card? Does it get discarded in this case?

Thanks,

Scott
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Gaca
Germany
Ravensburg
flag msg tools
badge
Build your own destiny.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it is single-use only and gets removed. This holds true for all equipment in the game (opposed to the experts).
Please remember that equipment is ONLY removed after it has been used for its effect (here: 4 coins). If you use any equipment to move onto rubble, to pay for a grey blockade, or as 1/2 a coin for purchasing, it is NOT removed.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Tullis
United States
Hamilton
Ohio
flag msg tools
How do you differentiate between equipment and experts?

Thanks,

Scott
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laszlo Molnar
Hungary
Budapest
Hungary
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tullace wrote:
How do you differentiate between equipment and experts?

Thanks,

Scott
It's just the theme. Objects (equipments) are one-use, people can be used again. But it's also shown with symbols: the 5 object cards show the 'discard (to box) after use' symbol, people cards do not.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Roitzsch
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
driehm wrote:
Yes, it is single-use only and gets removed. This holds true for all equipment in the game (opposed to the experts).
Please remember that equipment is ONLY removed after it has been used for its effect (here: 4 coins). If you use any equipment to move onto rubble, to pay for a grey blockade, or as 1/2 a coin for purchasing, it is NOT removed.

A short note in the rules would be great!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Binning
United States
Rollinsville
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
shinkyo wrote:
driehm wrote:
Yes, it is single-use only and gets removed. This holds true for all equipment in the game (opposed to the experts).
Please remember that equipment is ONLY removed after it has been used for its effect (here: 4 coins). If you use any equipment to move onto rubble, to pay for a grey blockade, or as 1/2 a coin for purchasing, it is NOT removed.


A short note in the rules would be great!


Page 4 in the English rules has this:

Quote:
These cards are marked by a crossed-out card symbol. Item cards can only be played once per game. After an item card is used, remove it from the game (put back into the box). Do not place it on your discard pile!

Exception: If you play an item card without using its function (e.g. to pass a rubble space, or to spend it as ½ a coin), place it above the expedition board after you played it, then put it on your discard pile.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.