Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Skyward» Forums » General

Subject: Cards with incorrect Effect Type symbols? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Quinn Swanger
United States
Holly Springs
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Collective buildings Memorial and Light Bridge both have the "Ongoing" Effect Type symbol, but the actual effects describes what happens to launch the buildings. So, it seems like both of these buildings should have the "Launch" symbol instead. What is the correct symbol supposed to be?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Chang
Australia
Gold Coast
Queensland
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Both Memorial and Lightbridge are correct to have the "Ongoing" effect symbol.

Ongoing effects are a special case where its abilities persist regardless of where the card is located: in hand, central deck, discard or in a player's Airspace.

In the case of Memorial and Lightbridge, the ability has the following distinctions that put it outside of being a "Launch" ability:

a) it modifies the launch requirement
b) it is a condition of launching, rather than an effect of launching.

It may seem a bit esoteric but it offers the design space to allow for interesting effects down the line for expansions to have ongoing cards continue to have an effect when it is in the discard, or modify the card's faction colour while it is still in a player's hand (or in a split).

Hope that clarifies things.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.