8 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: Combat Hex Tradeable Miniatures Game» Forums » General

Subject: Lingering Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
M M
msg tools
Hello,

I have several lingering questions about this game since I started playing well over 10 years ago haha. I dont expect them to all get answered but I would appreciate any insight. I also never got the chance to play in any of the official tournaments back in the day with perhaps some of hte more advanced players or wider community.

1. Does evil have the superior minions? Probably 60-80% of the time evil wins when my friends and I play even to this day. Evil minions on the whole seem to have more survivability and "force multipliers" like the red and purple BS orc warriors who bring 4 toughness and armor to the fight with dirty fighting! Plus you have the purple BS uruk warriors with aggressive strategy. I dont know of any good minions that bring that same force multiplication to the battle and survivability.

Archers: Ya I think the BS uruk archers and the FE uruk archers are hands-down the best basic archers in the game with their 2 health, 4 toughness, and at least 2 ranged attack- not a single good archer I know of brings those basic qualities to the fight unless you splurge for an expensive BS lothlorien archer with armor to add some survivability with the 2/8 ranged attack.

Dont get me started on the FE purple uruk archer, the BS purple uruk bezerker, or the BS purple uruk scouts. All 3 of those guys appear in every evil army and absolutely level the field with their specials.

2. BS Guards of the Fountain Court: Why are they trash? I thought these guys were the elite of the gondorian army yet the orange dudes bring a measly 2 toughness to the fight which puts them at a disadvantage against your average orc warrior. I suppose the RK Guards kind of made up for this- not that I ever got the chance to get any hah.