Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Re-Getting Perk-checkmarks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hagen Munsch
Germany
Bochum
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
If I have 3 checkmarks I can choose a perk.
What if I loose one checkmark afterwards and then getting a third chekmark again? Can I choose another perk? Can I only get 6 perks through earning checkmarks?

AND: My retirement-prerequisite is to accumulate a certain number of checkmarks (I think it was 15).. Do I have to substract the lost checkmark from this list? Or does it still count, because I had got it already?

Sorry, I hope my question is understandable, english is not my native language.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can't lose a checkmark if it was your third (or a multiple of 3).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hagen Munsch
Germany
Bochum
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Yesterday we had a road-event that had the consequence "Loose one (checkmark)".

So because I had exactly 3 ones I can ignore that penalty then?
I had never read that in the rules.
Thx
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hygrom wrote:
So because I had exactly 3 ones I can ignore that penalty then?
I had never read that in the rules.


Yes. Look in the Official FAQ (OLD).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christoph M.
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hygrom wrote:
AND: My retirement-prerequisite is to accumulate a certain number of checkmarks (I think it was 15).. Do I have to substract the lost checkmark from this list? Or does it still count, because I had got it already?


Since your personal goal is not HAVING 15 marks, but GETTING 15, the one you lost would still count.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Latimore
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Chris Coyote wrote:
Hygrom wrote:
AND: My retirement-prerequisite is to accumulate a certain number of checkmarks (I think it was 15).. Do I have to substract the lost checkmark from this list? Or does it still count, because I had got it already?


Since your personal goal is not HAVING 15 marks, but GETTING 15, the one you lost would still count.
In addition, I believe the goal specifies checkmarks from battle goals.

If you gain checkmarks some other way, they don't count towards your goal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hagen Munsch
Germany
Bochum
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanx again for the answers
David desJardins.. I looked in the FAQ already but did not find it. Will look again.
At least it ist definetly not stated in the rules.

David Latimore, Thats clear, but thank you.

That should help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eli K.
msg tools
mbmb
Definitely in the rulebook ^^

See top of pg42 (Description of Rewards and Penalties of Road Events) Searched the PDF Rulebook V5. Not sure if the page coincides with the printed version, but quite sure I have read it in the printed version before:

Quote:
A character can never lose a checkmark
that would cause him or her to lose a perk, ...


Easy to miss though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hygrom wrote:
David desJardins.. I looked in the FAQ already but did not find it. Will look again.


Did you use the search function? If you search for either "check" or "perk" it is hard to miss. There aren't that many matching questions, and one of them is, "If I lose a check mark, can that make me lose a perk?"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
StElmo wrote:
See top of pg42 (Description of Rewards and Penalties of Road Events) Searched the PDF Rulebook V5. "A character can never lose a checkmark that would cause him or her to lose a perk, ..."


That's not in the current rulebook. The language in the current rulebook is not so specific. You're looking at the future rulebook, for the next version that's not out yet. The second printing will have a lot of the FAQ incorporated, but if you're playing the first printing you still need to look in the FAQ.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.