Subject: Adding Dice (variant) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Fleming
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
New to the forum and love it!

We recently discovered how fun Ticket To Ride is and have played it quite frequently. My son and I were discussing a possible variant that, in our opinion could add another layer of fun to the game.

Using a pair of dice, the players roll at the beginning of their turn. If two 1's are rolled , they can steal one train card from the player to their left. Two 6's, they steal from the player to the right. A 6 and 1, the other players can each take one card from the player that just rolled. Any other roll does nothing.

The player would then play as normal, either choosing a new train card, a destination card, or placing trains. They could use stolen cards on the same turn.

Thoughts? I apologize if this has been suggested before. I'm a newb and wanted to add something to the forum! We LOVE the game by the way, and don't want to suggest it's lacking anything. This was just an idea we started talking about while playing.

Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Terebayza
United States
Coon Rapids
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds like an easy little twist to add to the game. Cool idea.

And welcome to the Geek!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Schumann
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds easy enough to try out. Let us know how it goes.

There is (or was) an official way to add dice: Ticket to Ride: The Dice Expansion

It's not easy to find, so I made some files you can use to make your own copy: T2R Dice Expansion PnP

Welcome!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Fleming
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
Thanks for the quick replies. I'll let you know how it goes. Thanks for the links too Whizkid!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Whizkid wrote: